![]() |
|
|
|||
A1 Reaching UNDER Net
Interesting discussion at last night's association meeting.
Play: B1 blocks ball, and the ball falls on B's side of the net. Before the ball hits the floor, the ball contacts A1's foot, which is in the air and entirely on B's side of the center line. Ruling? Does it matter if a B player was attempting to play the ball? Does it matter if A's actions were intentional? |
|
|||
I don't have the answer to your play but I would like to add to that discussion
Play: B1 blocks ball, and the ball falls on A's side of the net. Before the ball hits the floor, the ball contacts B1's foot, which is in the air and entirely on A's side of the center line. Ruling? Does it matter if an A player was attempting to play the ball? Does it matter if B's actions were intentional? Or Unintentional? Last edited by Zoochy; Mon Sep 23, 2019 at 01:18pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
Hope that helps.
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
Does A'1 intent matter?
|
|
|||
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
But what about Net Play, NFHS Rule 9.6.3 - "A player shall not contact a ball which is completely on the opponent's side of the net unless the contact is a legal block"?
|
|
|||
Quote:
If there's no one around and you call something because it was blocked into a foot, well, that's a really tough sell.
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
Quote:
(This is all part of the discussion we had -- the definition of interference in rule 9-xxx (sorry, no books), along with the lack of "over the net" in the "contacts the ball on the other side of the net" rule, etc. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
Felix A. Madera USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee FIVB Qualified International Scorer PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee |
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Reaching in and over the back | wbrown | Basketball | 10 | Thu Jan 22, 2009 03:21pm |
Reaching for a T | Chess Ref | Basketball | 15 | Fri Dec 21, 2007 06:53am |
OTB and Reaching | KCRef | Basketball | 15 | Wed Mar 28, 2007 06:27pm |
11.1 REACHING BEYOND THE NET - for '05-'06 | OmniSpiker | Volleyball | 3 | Thu Aug 03, 2006 11:51am |
"Over the back and Reaching in" | stmaryrams | Basketball | 2 | Wed Mar 02, 2005 10:39pm |