The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Volleyball (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/)
-   -   Ball contacting net outside of antenna (not 3rd hit) (https://forum.officiating.com/volleyball/104037-ball-contacting-net-outside-antenna-not-3rd-hit.html)

bbodb1 Mon Sep 24, 2018 02:59pm

Ball contacting net outside of antenna (not 3rd hit)
 
NFHS: On some nets, it is possible for a ball to hit the net outside of the antenna but still contact net only. The ball then rebounds back toward the team playing the ball.

If that happens as described above AND it was before the 3rd hit, can a ball contact the net OUTSIDE the antenna but still on the net, rebound back toward the team that last played the ball and play continue?

I know that 9-6-2 mentions recovering a ball hit into the net shall be permitted. Also, 3-1-1 defines the specs for the net with a max width of 33 feet. This does leave the possibility of space on the net on the OUTSIDE of the antenna for a ball to contact the net, rebound and possibly be played.

Is this legal? I am continuing to read on this....thanks for any direction anyone can provide.

genetoy71 Tue Sep 25, 2018 07:24am

This is covered by Rule 2.3.1(d). Ball is out of bounds and becomes dead when it:

Touches the net cables or net not completely inside the antenna, net supports or first referee's platform.

Tony.oe4 Tue Sep 25, 2018 08:58am

genetoy is correct. If the ball makes contact with the antenna or ANYTHING outside of the antenna, the ball is dead and considered out.

bbodb1 Wed Sep 26, 2018 01:34pm

Thanks all - a reminder to self I should read (and reread .... and reread...) ALL of the rules and not just the more commonly cited ones.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1