![]() |
Test Questions
Some discussion here about two test questions. Any guidance appreciated:
1) Team A submits a lineup for set 2 that lists player #6 in both position 3 and as the libero. What action should be taken? A. If noticed by the R2 when checking players on the court, the coach may change the lineup without penalty. B. The R2 should allow the coach to change the lineup without penalty if the lineup can be corrected before one minute remains in the intermission. We've eliminated C and D as possibilities. We know the coach can either keep #6 in position 3 and enter a new libero, or keep #6 as the libero and sub in position 3. The discussion centers on the phrase "without penalty" and whether the sub for #6, if used, constitutes a "penalty" 2) Team B requested and is granted a substitution. After the substitution is completed, Team A requests and is granted a time-out. At the end of the time-out, the Team B coach requests another substitution. The correct ruling is: C. The substitution is denied and Team B receives an administrative yellow card. D. The substitution is denied and no penalty is assessed. This seems to be covered by two rules in the book -- one which shows a penalty and one which does not. THere's also a case where no penalty is shown, but the words don't *specifically say* "no penalty." |
Here's my take. Both of these plays are directly out of the casebook.
1. Answer is A. 7-1-2 & 7.1.2 Sit C. The coach is allowed to sub for the player #6, or changed the listed libero without penalty. 2. Answer is D. 10-1-3 & 10.1.3 Sit A. A coach is allowed to request a soon only once during the same dead ball. |
Now might be a good time to remind people to indicate which rule set you're referencing when asking a question. :)
|
Quote:
|
Ah, my bad. I just assumed the rule set was NFHS.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18am. |