The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Volleyball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2017, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 98
Per the NFHS Casebook:

8.1.6 Situation B: After the first referee's signal for serve, the server: (a) swings and misses the tossed ball; (b)swings, misses and the ball contacts her shoulder; (c) lets the tossed ball drop to the floor; (d) catches a bad toss; (e) tosses the ball, then lets it drop without swinging at it, but it touches the server's knee as it drops to the floor. Ruling: (a), (c), (d), and (e) re-serve; (b) illegal serve, point/loss of rally. Comment: in (b), if the ball had not been touched the server, but dropped to the floor, it would have been a re-serve; (e) no attempt was made to serve the ball.

Last edited by pavbref; Tue Sep 26, 2017 at 12:41pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2017, 12:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavbref View Post
Per the NFHS Casebook:

8.1.6 Situation B: After the first referee's signal for serve, the server: (a) swings and misses the tossed ball; (b)swings, misses and the ball contacts her shoulder; (c) lets the tossed ball drop to the floor; (d) catches a bad toss; (e) tosses the ball, then lets it drop without swinging at it, but it touches the server's knee as it drops to the floor. Ruling: (a), (c), (d), and (e) re-serve; (b) illegal serve, point/loss of rally. Comment: in (b), if the ball had not been touched the server, but dropped to the floor, it would have been a re-serve; (e) no attempt was made to serve the ball.
Right. The server did item (c), but did so after fumbling the ball, chasing it into the court, and returning to the service area. Does any of the "fumbla, chase, return" action affect anything?

I didn't think so, so I didn't call anything (well, except the re-serve), but I thought it was worth discussing here.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2017, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 99
Arrow

After reviewing Rule 8, there is nothing in the verbiage of the rule book or the case book that provides for an illegal serve ruling when a player crosses the line. Bold/underline emphasis mine...

Rule 8-1-2 . . . The server shall serve from within the serving area (2-1-6) and shall not touch the end line or the floor outside the lines marking the width of the serving area at the instant the ball is contacted for the serve. The server's body may be in the air over or beyond the serving area boundary lines, having left the floor from within the serving area.

In this case, as long as the player is in the service area at the moment of contact (or, by implication, toss for service), all is good.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2017, 01:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Janesville, WI
Posts: 761
Send a message via ICQ to FMadera Send a message via AIM to FMadera Send a message via Yahoo to FMadera
Quote:
Originally Posted by timasdf View Post
After reviewing Rule 8, there is nothing in the verbiage of the rule book or the case book that provides for an illegal serve ruling when a player crosses the line. Bold/underline emphasis mine...

Rule 8-1-2 . . . The server shall serve from within the serving area (2-1-6) and shall not touch the end line or the floor outside the lines marking the width of the serving area at the instant the ball is contacted for the serve. The server's body may be in the air over or beyond the serving area boundary lines, having left the floor from within the serving area.

In this case, as long as the player is in the service area at the moment of contact (or, by implication, toss for service), all is good.
Nope, not illegal unless ball is contacted when the player was last contacting in bounds, basically. You can certainly drop a service toss while over the line.
__________________
Felix A. Madera
USAV Indoor National / Beach Zonal Referee
FIVB Qualified International Scorer
PAVO National Referee / Certified Line Judge/Scorer
WIAA/IHSA Volleyball Referee
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fumbled Ball (cont) mickhickva Basketball 85 Thu Apr 21, 2016 03:05pm
Traveling or Fumbled Ball mickhickva Basketball 18 Wed Apr 13, 2016 12:15pm
Snap fumbled by holder kentref Football 14 Tue Jul 25, 2006 01:17pm
Back to the fumbled interception in the EZ. Jim S Football 1 Wed Sep 08, 2004 02:19pm
Fumbled Free Throw Cyber-Ref Basketball 7 Mon Feb 10, 2003 02:59pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1