![]() |
Quote:
Personally, I don't think paragraphs 8 & 9 need be anywhere in the book. I do, however, believe there should be a definition of "base" and "double base" somewhere in the rules other than the dimensions |
Quote:
Again, I can't speak for everyone, but I do review all the rules. And when I apply them in a game, I'm usually pretty confident about what I've done. But occasionally, I get to wonder if I had it right - either on my own or because a coach questioned something. Or maybe I confused it with the other hat I wear. Then I go try to find it in the book(s). Usually the index helps, but sometimes I can't put my finger on it quickly enough. My book is dog-eared and highlighted all over the place. And I carry it forward from year to year. (Probably by 2066, every passage will be highlighted and I won't be able to find a darn thing.) So yeah, I guess I will go looking for a rule when I need one cuz they just don't all fit into the memory stick. I recall seeing it, reading it, but I don't recall where it lives. You've suggested on occasion that I check Rule Supplements. That's a great suggestion and has clarified some things for me. I know, for instance, that a batter can carry the bat all around the bases if he so chooses. I had a partner tell a batter he couldn't do that and not to do it again. I re-educated him between innings and discussed it after the game. Hopefully he'll remember it if he ever needs to again. Not sure he'll know where to find it, though. |
Quote:
|
Ahhh, the old argument of rule book errors, omissions, conflicts, etc. They aren't just found in the ASA book. Every book has them. As a quick example, look at the NFHS book under 3-5. It's headlined COACHING. And yet, under Articles 5 and 6, the book refers to offensive team personnel, not coaches. Wouldn't those articles be better suited under rule 3-6, which talks about Bench and Field conduct?
As for the OP, I'm really surprised the discussion went any further once you pointed out to the coach 8-2-N-8. It clearly says the runner is out when he/she fails to tag up on a caught fly ball, and the defense appeals using either bag. Regardless of where it is in the book, it's in there. Yeah, perhaps all of 8-2-N deserves its own section, just like it does in the Fed book under 8-10, to be less confusing to the reader. But if a rule clearly says something and it just happens to be "misplaced" in the book, that doesn't make the rule null and void. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28am. |