The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Over running base (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/99930-over-running-base.html)

Boss 21 Thu Jul 02, 2015 11:44am

Over running base
 
Batter hits ball to third while running to first he beats throw but misses bag .
Is he out or is there an appeal play?

IRISHMAFIA Thu Jul 02, 2015 11:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boss 21 (Post 964411)
Batter hits ball to third while running to first he beats throw but misses bag .
Is he out or is there an appeal play?

Speaking ASA

There must be a proper live ball appeal made. In this case, it must be prior to the runner returning to and touching the base.

GoRedSox Thu Jul 02, 2015 09:15pm

So what would be a proper appeal?

RKBUmp Thu Jul 02, 2015 09:18pm

Prior to the runner returning to the base, either tagging the runner or the base and announcing to the umpire the runner did not touch the base.

GoRedSox Thu Jul 02, 2015 09:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 964428)
Prior to the runner returning to the base, either tagging the runner or the base and announcing to the umpire the runner did not touch the base.

RKB, Thanks I had this exact thing last night I know I had it right but wanted to be sure. The BR missed 1st base and the DC saw it and told the P to throw the ball to 1B. Then the 1B touched the bag but didn't say anything about why she was touching the bag. I waiting and then had to ask why she was touching the bag and she didn't know. By then of course the runner was back on the bag and I called time and had to explain the live ball appeal to the coach.

AtlUmpSteve Fri Jul 03, 2015 12:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoRedSox (Post 964429)
RKB, Thanks I had this exact thing last night I know I had it right but wanted to be sure. The BR missed 1st base and the DC saw it and told the P to throw the ball to 1B. Then the 1B touched the bag but didn't say anything about why she was touching the bag. I waiting and then had to ask why she was touching the bag and she didn't know. By then of course the runner was back on the bag and I called time and had to explain the live ball appeal to the coach.

As stated above, the appeal needs to be made before the runner returns; it doesn't say (AND THIS IS IMPORTANT!!) the appeal has to be completed before the runner returns.

If the appeal is initiated before the runner returns (the touch or tag), give the defense any reasonable amount of time to complete the verbalization of what is being appealed. Yes, F3 can ask the coach and get an answer and repeat it, and you should accept that; or another player can verbalize wht the appeal is despite the fact that F3 made the touch or tag, we only need to know what they are doing. The runner missed the friggin base (or hit the WRONG bag), and should be out if they can spit out the words.

Consider that a caught fly ball or line drive with a throw behind a runner that left early is considered an effective live ball appeal because we know wha they mean. In this, and any other case, you can accept that you know what they mean if you really do know. The exact verbalization is meant to differentiate when it could mean multiple things, or where multiple runners passed the same base. Give the defense a benefit of doubt if you do understand; the offense screwed up, get the out!!!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:15pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1