The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Who's protected? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/99884-whos-protected.html)

jmkupka Sun Jun 14, 2015 04:49pm

Who's protected?
 
No outs, R1 on 2B.

Batter hits a high fly ball directly above F1 (it'll land on pitcher's plate if F1 moves, which she doesn't). F1 makes no movement to prepare to catch.

F6, charging infield, collides with R1.

Apparently, F1 is coached not to make any catches. But it's comin' down to her.

Which fielder is protected?

Does it matter that F6 was not yelling "Got it, got it..."

RKBUmp Sun Jun 14, 2015 04:51pm

I'd have a real hard time protecting f6 when the ball is coming down on top of f1's head.

chapmaja Sun Jun 14, 2015 10:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 963855)
No outs, R1 on 2B.

Batter hits a high fly ball directly above F1 (it'll land on pitcher's plate if F1 moves, which she doesn't). F1 makes no movement to prepare to catch.

F6, charging infield, collides with R1.

Apparently, F1 is coached not to make any catches. But it's comin' down to her.

Which fielder is protected?

Does it matter that F6 was not yelling "Got it, got it..."

What rule code? Where is R1 when the contact occurs?

3afan Mon Jun 15, 2015 06:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 963855)
...
Which fielder is protected?
...

OK what am I missing? How is a fielder "protected"? "Protected" from what?

RKBUmp Mon Jun 15, 2015 06:38am

Protected from committing obstruction. Only 1 player is protected when fielding a batted ball.

EsqUmp Mon Jun 15, 2015 06:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKBUmp (Post 963871)
Protected from committing obstruction. Only 1 player is protected when fielding a batted ball.

Actually, you're not protected "from" committing obstruction. You're protected "by" interference being called. It may seem subtle, but there's a difference.

jmkupka Mon Jun 15, 2015 07:20am

ASA or PONY. R1 is leading big off the pitch.

So my question is, who is protected, the fielder who is obviously coached to make the play in this situation, or the fielder who obviously has the easiest (but not most likely) chance?

Again, does F6 shouting "I got it" while she's still behind the 2-3 baseline (but charging) let us off the hook as far as making the choice?

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jun 15, 2015 07:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 963873)
asa or pony. R1 is leading big off the pitch.

So my question is, who is protected, the fielder who is obviously coached to make the play in this situation, or the fielder who obviously has the easiest (but not most likely) chance?

Again, does f6 shouting "i got it" while she's still behind the 2-3 baseline (but charging) let us off the hook as far as making the choice?

f1

jmkupka Mon Jun 15, 2015 07:26am

Black & white. perfect.

MD Longhorn Mon Jun 15, 2015 09:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 963872)
Actually, you're not protected "from" committing obstruction. You're protected "by" interference being called. It may seem subtle, but there's a difference.

No, it's both. The fielder who is protected "by" interference cannot be guilty of obstruction while trying to field that batted ball.

MD Longhorn Mon Jun 15, 2015 09:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 963873)
ASA or PONY. R1 is leading big off the pitch.

So my question is, who is protected, the fielder who is obviously coached to make the play in this situation, or the fielder who obviously has the easiest (but not most likely) chance?

Again, does F6 shouting "I got it" while she's still behind the 2-3 baseline (but charging) let us off the hook as far as making the choice?

We are not the coach. Protect the fielder that is in the best position to make the play... regardless of whatever they are coached.

The only way I could possibly see protecting F6 on a play like this is if I see F1 running immediately AWAY from the area, and F6 becomes most likely to play the ball before there is anything happening between F6 and R1. I see this as very unlikely... but possible.

AtlUmpSteve Mon Jun 15, 2015 10:03am

I like to refer to the actual wording of the applicable rule when there is a question of the wording and meaning. I believe that understanding the rule is better than the black and white, so you can better judge when it is gray.

In ASA, 8-8.C (wording quite similar in NFHS and NCAA): THE RUNNER IS NOT OUT:

"When more than one fielder attempts to field a batted ball and the runner comes into contact with THE ONE who in the umpire's judgment could not have made an out." (in NCAA "make a play") So, let's parse this rule.

While there is no doubt this could be worded better and clearer, there are some key words that I have highlighted. "THE one" is what tells us there can be only one fielder protected; otherwise, it would eliminate "the", and "one" alone would tell us all who could make the out are protected.

"In the umpire's judgment" is what "let's you off the hook", as you say; that means you get to decide, not the coach telling you how he coaches his team.

And "made an out" means you get to decide that fielders chasing batted balls (usually an F6 chasing a batted ball up the middle) that YOU judge cannot make an out are not protected, and are, in fact, subject to obstruction calls with runners starting on 2nd. In NCAA, (or any other ruleset using that wording) if the F6 could reach and stop the ball, that alone extends the protection with "make a play" versus "made an out", irrespective of your judgment that no out could be made.

jmkupka Mon Jun 15, 2015 12:42pm

When more than one fielder (could be 3) attempt to field a batted ball, there are more "THE one" who could not have made the out.
This rule's usage of "THE one" tells us (incorrectly) that there is only one fielder liable for obs.

Regardless, I see your point, and regretted typing B&W as soon as I hit send.

CecilOne Mon Jun 15, 2015 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 963888)
regretted typing B&W as soon as I hit send.

Then delete it. :rolleyes:

chapmaja Mon Jun 15, 2015 10:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 963883)
I like to refer to the actual wording of the applicable rule when there is a question of the wording and meaning. I believe that understanding the rule is better than the black and white, so you can better judge when it is gray.

In ASA, 8-8.C (wording quite similar in NFHS and NCAA): THE RUNNER IS NOT OUT:

"When more than one fielder attempts to field a batted ball and the runner comes into contact with THE ONE who in the umpire's judgment could not have made an out." (in NCAA "make a play") So, let's parse this rule.

While there is no doubt this could be worded better and clearer, there are some key words that I have highlighted. "THE one" is what tells us there can be only one fielder protected; otherwise, it would eliminate "the", and "one" alone would tell us all who could make the out are protected.

"In the umpire's judgment" is what "let's you off the hook", as you say; that means you get to decide, not the coach telling you how he coaches his team.

And "made an out" means you get to decide that fielders chasing batted balls (usually an F6 chasing a batted ball up the middle) that YOU judge cannot make an out are not protected, and are, in fact, subject to obstruction calls with runners starting on 2nd. In NCAA, (or any other ruleset using that wording) if the F6 could reach and stop the ball, that alone extends the protection with "make a play" versus "made an out", irrespective of your judgment that no out could be made.

Like the response :)

Manny A Tue Jun 16, 2015 06:13am

Just to add my two cents, the rules recognize F1 not only as a pitcher, but also as an infielder. She is treated no differently than the other infielders when it comes to fielding a batted ball, with the exception of when a ball deflects off her. In the case of a fly ball, there is nothing in the rules that designates F1 as a prima donna who is not expected to catch it. That's nothing more than a goofy tradition you see in pro baseball that coaches bring with them to the amateur ranks.

If you judge she should be the one to catch it, then that prevails, not a coach's desire to follow goofy traditions.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jun 16, 2015 06:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 963883)

And "made an out" means you get to decide that fielders chasing batted balls (usually an F6 chasing a batted ball up the middle) that YOU judge cannot make an out are not protected, and are, in fact, subject to obstruction calls with runners starting on 2nd. In NCAA, (or any other ruleset using that wording) if the F6 could reach and stop the ball, that alone extends the protection with "make a play" versus "made an out", irrespective of your judgment that no out could be made.

I often find the difference between "play" and "out" in certain rules to be somewhat ambiguous as the definition of "play" includes the attempt to retire a BR/R/offensive player including the NCAA.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jun 16, 2015 06:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 963908)
Just to add my two cents, the rules recognize F1 not only as a pitcher, but also as an infielder. She is treated no differently than the other infielders when it comes to fielding a batted ball, with the exception of when a ball deflects off her. In the case of a fly ball, there is nothing in the rules that designates F1 as a prima donna who is not expected to catch it. That's nothing more than a goofy tradition you see in pro baseball that coaches bring with them to the amateur ranks.

If you judge she should be the one to catch it, then that prevails, not a coach's desire to follow goofy traditions.

Actually, in ASA the pitcher is not considered an infielder.

Not saying the rest of your post is inaccurate (except the deflection part in some rule sets), just the definition. :)

Dakota Tue Jun 16, 2015 09:40am

"Protected" is a bit of umpire jargon that is actually inaccurate enough to trip us up if we don't keep the actual rule itself in mind.

IOW, no one is "protected". It is simply that a runner is out if the runner interferes with a fielder attempting to field a batted ball with the exception that if more than one fielder is attempting to field the batted ball, the runner is not out if the contact is with one who could not make an out / play.

This wording is a bit clumsy (What if there is more than 2? What if they could all make an out?), but we - hopefully - know what is meant.

And, Mike, I do believe that a pitcher is still a fielder, right? :)

Manny A Tue Jun 16, 2015 02:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 963913)
This wording is a bit clumsy (What if there is more than 2? What if they could all make an out?), but we - hopefully - know what is meant.

In that case, we would have to figure out which fielder had the priority (IOW, which one is "most protected" :p)

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jun 16, 2015 07:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 963913)
And, Mike, I do believe that a pitcher is still a fielder, right? :)

Didn't say THEY were not, did I?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1