The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   interference (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/99797-interference.html)

benbret Mon May 18, 2015 03:50pm

interference
 
NFHS Girls fast pitch. B1 on second base. B2 hits a sharp grounder up the middle on the right side of the F1. F1 tried to make a play but miss played the ball and did not touch it. (she should have made the play) F5 is in position to field the ball when B1 runs into her knocking F5 down. Does the ball passing F1 count as the initial play passing a fielder or is this interference on B1. Rule please or casebook play.

CecilOne Mon May 18, 2015 04:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by benbret (Post 962577)
NFHS Girls fast pitch. B1 on second base. B2 hits a sharp grounder up the middle on the right side of the F1. F1 tried to make a play but miss played the ball and did not touch it. (she should have made the play) F5 is in position to field the ball when B1 runs into her knocking F5 down. Does the ball passing F1 count as the initial play passing a fielder or is this interference on B1. Rule please or casebook play.

No, the pitcher does not affect the initial play rule even if touched, NFHS 1-47-3.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1