The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Fed Blood Rule - Runners & Subs (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/99635-fed-blood-rule-runners-subs.html)

teebob21 Thu Apr 02, 2015 10:21pm

Fed Blood Rule - Runners & Subs
 
I need help on the Fed blood rule (3.3.10 I think). My kids have "helped" me misplace my rulebook somewhere here in my office, and the answer I need is not in the case book.

Situation: BR hits a double and skins her knee badly sliding into 2B. It cannot be stopped/cleaned up in a reasonable amount of time. Offensive coach puts in a runner (R2) off the bench.

(1) Is this a substitution?
(2) Can R2 enter the game for a different batter later, or do normal sub rules apply?

Thanks.

Cliffdweller Thu Apr 02, 2015 11:11pm

Yes it is a substitution and bloodied player can re-enter.

CecilOne Fri Apr 03, 2015 06:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by teebob21 (Post 960050)
I need help on the Fed blood rule (3.3.10 I think). My kids have "helped" me misplace my rulebook somewhere here in my office, and the answer I need is not in the case book.

Situation: BR hits a double and skins her knee badly sliding into 2B. It cannot be stopped/cleaned up in a reasonable amount of time. Offensive coach puts in a runner (R2) off the bench.

(1) Is this a substitution?
(2) Can R2 enter the game for a different batter later, or do normal sub rules apply?

Thanks.

When you find your rules book, you will not find the answer.
Re-entry applies to the player removed, but no wording about the temporary sub. Temporary runner would apply, but only if there are no subs available.

Dakota Fri Apr 03, 2015 12:03pm

So, in summary, if she is an eligible sub, then she is a sub. If there are no eligible subs available, then she is not a sub. :)

CecilOne Fri Apr 03, 2015 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 960068)
So, in summary, if she is an eligible sub, then she is a sub. If there are no eligible subs available, then she is not a sub. :)

There is another topic which explains the futility of being logical about rules. ;)

teebob21 Fri Apr 03, 2015 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 960068)
So, in summary, if she is an eligible sub, then she is a sub. If there are no eligible subs available, then she is not a sub. :)

Gotta love NFHS rules. The BR has left the game in all cases, and the runner is a sub if eligible. Even if she's not, the offense can replace the BR, and re-enter if she has a re-entry left. Got it.

New twist: If the bleeding player has already used up the re-entry, is she done when she goes out for the blood? (I assume so.)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1