The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   obstruction (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/99488-obstruction.html)

yovanovic Thu Mar 12, 2015 03:51pm

obstruction
 
What is the call when a trailing runner passes an obstructed runner

MD Longhorn Thu Mar 12, 2015 03:52pm

Out.

Then, at the end of play, the umpire must determine where the runners would have gotten to absent the OBS... this could include the passing runner if they passed BECAUSE OF the OBS.

Tru_in_Blu Fri Mar 13, 2015 05:14pm

Question #8 on the ASA test:

8. A runner who passes an obstructed preceding runner shall be declared out immediately.
a.) True
b.) False

DaveASA/FED Sat Mar 14, 2015 07:59am

It depends on the code. NFHS has a stipulation that you do not call the runner out. In ASA those that posted are correct call the runner out then at the end of the play award the runners (including the runner that was prevously out) the bases they would have reached had there been no obstruction. Those that wonder about that woudl that runner have passed the obstructed runner if they were not obstructed?

IRISHMAFIA Sat Mar 14, 2015 08:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 957732)
Question #8 on the ASA test:

8. A runner who passes an obstructed preceding runner shall be declared out immediately.
a.) True
b.) False

True

twotakedown Sat Mar 14, 2015 09:09pm

NFHS:

Rule 8 Section 6 The Runner is out

Art. 4
The runner physically passes a preceding runner before that runner is put out.If this was the third out of an inning, any runs scoring prior to the out for passing a preceding runner would count. A runner(s) passing a preceding obstructed runner, as in 8-4-3b Penalty c , is not out.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Mar 15, 2015 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twotakedown (Post 957831)
NFHS:

Rule 8 Section 6 The Runner is out

Art. 4
The runner physically passes a preceding runner before that runner is put out.If this was the third out of an inning, any runs scoring prior to the out for passing a preceding runner would count. A runner(s) passing a preceding obstructed runner, as in 8-4-3b Penalty c , is not out.

As worded, that is a pitiful rule. Then again, I'm not a big fan of ASA's interpretation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1