![]() |
NCAA: Runner in contact with base is hit by batted fly ball
Had a good tricky one today on the dish, something that I've never seen in all my games ever: No outs, R1 on 3B, R2 on 2B. Batter hits a soft shallow low fly ball down the third base foul line. R1 takes two steps to home and retreats to 3B. She is standing with her back to the plate on 3B and the ball hits her in the back over fair territory. No fielder had an opportunity to catch the ball.
I signal fair and drop the signal (far too quickly) and continue watching. The ball rolls in the infield and is picked up by an infielder (F5 I think). R2 is daydreaming and is nearly put out at 2B. The BR has only gone 15 feet down the baseline, and the defense puts her out at 1B. One out, right? All of a sudden I have the defensive head coach in my ear wanting an out at 3B. I've already looked up the rule, but on the spot, what would you have here? |
Was the nearest defender in front or behind 3rd base? If in front, yes the out at 1st stands. If behind, dead ball and award b/r 1st base.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
If the runner was hit in fair territory while off the base, it would matter where the fielder was positioned. |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
The ASA version of this rule is 8-8-M: (The runner is not out...) When hit by a batted ball while in contact with a base, unless the runner intentionally interferes with the ball or a fielder making a play. There is no mention of if the fielder was positioned in front of or behind the base (at 3rd, in the OP). Can you expound on the "not necessarily" comment? I might be missing something. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
I probably would have had to toss the defensive HC if we'd have made that ruling. Oh well...there's always next time... |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56am. |