The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   NFHS: Photographer Outside Media Area (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/98977-nfhs-photographer-outside-media-area.html)

Manny A Mon Jan 05, 2015 03:45pm

NFHS: Photographer Outside Media Area
 
Perusing the FED Case Book, I came across this play:

Quote:

5.1.1 SITUATION H: A ball thrown wildly to third base touches a photographer who is standing (a) inside or (b) outside the designated media area. RULING: In (a), the ball is dead immediately. In (b), the ball remains live. The photographer shall be instructed to remain in the designated media area. (1-1-7; 2-2-3; 5-1-1o)
Say what?? Why wouldn't 8-4-3k be more appropriate here? Shouldn't a photographer outside of his/her designated area be considered a de facto spectator, and the ball be killed immediately, allowing the umpires to award runners any bases they judged appropriate? I have a hard time allowing the ball to remain Live when a bonehead photographer affects play outside of his/her box.

The Definition of Blocked Ball also comes to mind, since the live ball is "touched...by a person not engaged in the game".

I've seen situations where a photographer will pick up his/her gear to move from one designated media area to the other, with total disregard that play is still Live. I've never seen him/her affect play, but it's quite possible. What if there's a pop foul near the area, and the photographer, thinking he/she needs to vacate the space to allow the fielders a chance to make the play, does so and inadvertently hinders the fielder most likely to make the catch. I guess from the implication of the case play, this is treated as no harm, no foul, right? That doesn't seem correct, in my mind.

Crabby_Bob Mon Jan 05, 2015 10:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 948760)
Perusing the FED Case Book, I came across this play:

[5.1.1. Situation H]


Say what?? Why wouldn't 8-4-3k be more appropriate here? Shouldn't a photographer outside of his/her designated area be considered a de facto spectator, and the ball be killed immediately, allowing the umpires to award runners any bases they judged appropriate? I have a hard time allowing the ball to remain Live when a bonehead photographer affects play outside of his/her box.

...

This is last year's casebook play 5.1.1 Situation G. I guess the photographer is to be treated like dirt. :D

IRISHMAFIA Tue Jan 06, 2015 01:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Crabby_Bob (Post 948839)
This is last year's casebook play 5.1.1 Situation G. I guess the photographer is to be treated like dirt. :D

Though the media is supposedly restricted to DBT in NFHS, should they wonder out and get involved in the play, I would think they would be treated as part of the playing field.

I would think the reason they are not considered a spectator is because they are permitted to be within the perimeter of the playing field. Think of it as a coach who is permitted on the field, but is confined to a certain area or allowances when not in DBT.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1