![]() |
|
|||
|
Quote:
I certainly don't believe you can even come close to faulting the batter. The batter is not only encouraged to stay ready, but required by rule to keep one foot in the box between pitches unless circumstance prevents it. Tom is correct that the umpire should have not taken his/her position until the runner completed her running task. If the umpire isn't in position, then you have nothing more than the pitcher throwing the ball to the catcher to prevent the runner from scoring. If the umpire is in position, and the BU notices and call "no pitch", I would follow ASA's guideline set forth in their obstruction ruling that when the ball is killed due to a defensive violation, the runner is placed based upon the base to which they are the closest at the time of the call. Under no circumstance can you rule the runner out for simply playing the game.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball. |
| Bookmarks |
|
|