The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Unintentional Contact with Detached Glove (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/98121-unintentional-contact-detached-glove.html)

bsnalex Mon Jun 30, 2014 05:36am

Unintentional Contact with Detached Glove
 
ISF ruleset--

Just wanted to know anyone's thoughts on this. Pitcher's glove for whatever reason ends up on the grass near the pitcher's plate. Throw comes in from right field, misses cutoff and goes close to the glove before F6 finally jumps on it before rolling dead.

Clearly nothing wrong with any of that except for the tantrum that the pitcher threw his glove on the floor. My question is if the ball had hit the glove instead of rolling past-- I can't see a rule for a thrown ball unintentionally contacting detached equipment. Intentional contact is delayed dead ball, three bases from the pitch. Can it be argued that the tantrum was an intentional detaching of the glove therefore the ball is intentionally touched by detached equipment?

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jun 30, 2014 06:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsnalex (Post 936944)
ISF ruleset--

Just wanted to know anyone's thoughts on this. Pitcher's glove for whatever reason ends up on the grass near the pitcher's plate. Throw comes in from right field, misses cutoff and goes close to the glove before F6 finally jumps on it before rolling dead.

Clearly nothing wrong with any of that except for the tantrum that the pitcher threw his glove on the floor. My question is if the ball had hit the glove instead of rolling past-- I can't see a rule for a thrown ball unintentionally contacting detached equipment. Intentional contact is delayed dead ball, three bases from the pitch. Can it be argued that the tantrum was an intentional detaching of the glove therefore the ball is intentionally touched by detached equipment?

You are not going to find anything because it doesn't exist and no, it cannot be argued as such. No, unsportsmanlike conduct is another issue, but all you will get out of that is the need for a substitute.

chapmaja Tue Jul 01, 2014 01:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsnalex (Post 936944)
ISF ruleset--

Just wanted to know anyone's thoughts on this. Pitcher's glove for whatever reason ends up on the grass near the pitcher's plate. Throw comes in from right field, misses cutoff and goes close to the glove before F6 finally jumps on it before rolling dead.

Clearly nothing wrong with any of that except for the tantrum that the pitcher threw his glove on the floor. My question is if the ball had hit the glove instead of rolling past-- I can't see a rule for a thrown ball unintentionally contacting detached equipment. Intentional contact is delayed dead ball, three bases from the pitch. Can it be argued that the tantrum was an intentional detaching of the glove therefore the ball is intentionally touched by detached equipment?

Without thinking about the rule set, I'm thinking just from an advantage/disadvantage point of view. The defensive players action (throwing the glove down in disgust), caused the glove to be on the field of play. They should not be in any way, shape, or form benefitted from a thrown ball striking this piece of equipment.

Manny A Tue Jul 01, 2014 01:59pm

I don't know about ISF, but wouldn't this be a blocked ball in other rule sets?

nopachunts Tue Jul 01, 2014 03:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 937064)
I don't know about ISF, but wouldn't this be a blocked ball in other rule sets?

Wouldn't the glove become a part of the field similar to the bat laying in fair territory? The glove is a part of the official equipment of the game.

MD Longhorn Wed Jul 02, 2014 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 937055)
Without thinking about the rule set, I'm thinking just from an advantage/disadvantage point of view. The defensive players action (throwing the glove down in disgust), caused the glove to be on the field of play. They should not be in any way, shape, or form benefitted from a thrown ball striking this piece of equipment.

Advantage / disadvantage is a basketball mindset. Shouldn't be used here. The rules are clear on this particular situation.

UmpireErnie Wed Jul 02, 2014 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 937064)
I don't know about ISF, but wouldn't this be a blocked ball in other rule sets?

Blocked ball would be if it was a glove of someone not currently playing. In this case you have a live ball defense better go get it runners may advance at their own risk.

Manny A Thu Jul 03, 2014 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by nopachunts (Post 937071)
Wouldn't the glove become a part of the field similar to the bat laying in fair territory? The glove is a part of the official equipment of the game.

The difference is that a bat is discarded after use. The same is relatively the case with a catcher's helmet/mask. And although there's an expectation of it remaining on the runner's head, a helmet sometimes comes off during the course of play.

But a fielder's glove? Those shouldn't ever come off a fielder's hand unless it's knocked off by a batted ball or a tag. And the fielder almost always retrieves it immediately and doesn't leave it on the ground. But if it's a case where the fielder throws it down in frustration, he/she should be held accountable for that.

I guess I stand corrected.

tcannizzo Thu Jul 03, 2014 03:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 937110)
Advantage / disadvantage is a basketball mindset. Shouldn't be used here. The rules are clear on this particular situation.

I agree in principal and I never use that terminology, but there is a difference in the rulings for when a ball is blocked by the offense or the defense.

bsnalex Mon Jul 07, 2014 08:10am

As far as I'm aware blocked ball is only for equipment that's not official playing equipment.

One to keep in the back of my mind next time I have a stroppy pitcher.


Incidentally in that game I got to call my first double-hit. Happened so quick I wasn't sure what the sound of it was, and got very excited when I got to call it!

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 07, 2014 09:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcannizzo (Post 937181)
I agree in principal and I never use that terminology, but there is a difference in the rulings for when a ball is blocked by the offense or the defense.

But this is not a blocked ball. This is a nothing, no matter which team ends up advantaged or disadvantaged.

Manny A Mon Jul 07, 2014 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bsnalex (Post 937319)
Incidentally in that game I got to call my first double-hit. Happened so quick I wasn't sure what the sound of it was, and got very excited when I got to call it!

I assume you mean the bat contacted the ball twice in one swing, and not the more routine bat-hitting-ball on a follow through swing or on a discarded bat. So what did you rule?

bsnalex Tue Jul 08, 2014 05:49am

Simply foul because it was quick. Pitcher was asking why not out but it's a rarity it's a double hit in the box.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1