The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   F2 Throws to F5 to Hold R2 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/98067-f2-throws-f5-hold-r2.html)

Manny A Wed Jun 18, 2014 08:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chapmaja (Post 936259)
What is the opinion on this if we were talking high school rules? My personal opinion, since F5 chases R2 back towards second, she is making a play on the runner, therefore no problem.

F2's throw itself has to be a play on the runner. Read the definition of Play in the rule book. It says, in part, "An attempt by a defensive player to retire a runner or a batter-runner." F2 is not making a play by throwing to F5 here unless it's clear that R2 is running for third.

Dakota Wed Jun 18, 2014 09:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 936279)
F2's throw itself has to be a play on the runner. Read the definition of Play in the rule book. It says, in part, "An attempt by a defensive player to retire a runner or a batter-runner." F2 is not making a play by throwing to F5 here unless it's clear that R2 is running for third.

They're making as much of play on the runner here as they are when F2 throws to F3 on a base on balls, which Fed says is a play. NFHS can't have it both ways.

3afan Thu Jun 19, 2014 06:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 936213)
So, in an ASA game, with a runner on first base, the catcher throws the ball to F5 at third after the first pitch of Ball to the batter. You're suggesting that we completely ignore it. :confused:

yes - its nothing

MD Longhorn Thu Jun 19, 2014 08:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 936279)
F2's throw itself has to be a play on the runner. Read the definition of Play in the rule book. It says, in part, "An attempt by a defensive player to retire a runner or a batter-runner." F2 is not making a play by throwing to F5 here unless it's clear that R2 is running for third.

This is not what is taught. This throw is not against the rules.

tcannizzo Thu Jun 19, 2014 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 936279)
F2's throw itself has to be a play on the runner. Read the definition of Play in the rule book. It says, in part, "An attempt by a defensive player to retire a runner or a batter-runner." F2 is not making a play by throwing to F5 here unless it's clear that R2 is running for third.

That throw could be a documented play in their play book; or even an invented play on the spot. Who knows what evil lurks....

Manny A Thu Jun 19, 2014 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tcannizzo (Post 936397)
That throw could be a documented play in their play book; or even an invented play on the spot. Who knows what evil lurks....

A "documented play in their play book" may be quite different than the definition of play in the rule book.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1