The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   clairfication on rule (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/97981-clairfication-rule.html)

Gmoore Thu May 29, 2014 01:01pm

clairfication on rule
 
SOFTBALL NFHS.....

Over thrown into DBT rule says two bases from base occupied when ball left fielders hand....

The dead ball table states two base when the ball becomes dead

So hit deep into hole between F5 & F6 fields, throws ball in attempt to retire batter/runner as runner touches first as ball passes over F3 into DBT

If runner had not touched first base but did before the ball enter DBT

Placement of runner?

azbigdawg Thu May 29, 2014 01:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gmoore (Post 935067)
SOFTBALL NFHS.....

Over thrown into DBT rule says two bases from base occupied when ball left fielders hand....

The dead ball table states two base when the ball becomes dead

So hit deep into hole between F5 & F6 fields, throws ball in attempt to retire batter/runner as runner touches first as ball passes over F3 into DBT

If runner had not touched first base but did before the ball enter DBT

Placement of runner?

2nd base

Big Slick Thu May 29, 2014 01:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gmoore (Post 935067)
SOFTBALL NFHS.....

Over thrown into DBT rule says two bases from base occupied when ball left fielders hand....

The dead ball table states two base when the ball becomes dead

So hit deep into hole between F5 & F6 fields, throws ball in attempt to retire batter/runner as runner touches first as ball passes over F3 into DBT

If runner had not touched first base but did before the ball enter DBT

Placement of runner?

Look at #15 in the dead ball (immediately) table for both activity and award.

Manny A Thu May 29, 2014 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gmoore (Post 935067)
SOFTBALL NFHS.....

Over thrown into DBT rule says two bases from base occupied when ball left fielders hand....

The dead ball table states two base when the ball becomes dead

You're not reading the Dead Ball Table correctly.

The Table says that the award of two bases from when the ball went dead applies to Activity #19, which is when a live ball is intentionally carried, kicked, pushed or thrown into dead-ball territory.

Activity #15 award of two bases from the point of release cites rule 8-4-3f as a reference, which involves a thrown ball going into dead-ball territory or becoming blocked. For some reason, Activity #15 in the Table doesn't specifically state the ball enters DBT, but it does reference 5-1-1g in the book, and that covers the thrown ball going into the stands, bench, etc.

CecilOne Thu May 29, 2014 03:54pm

It is really nice when
1) someone provides the correct answer
2) someone figures out and explains why the question arose or the mistake was made
3) someone saves me the trouble of looking it up. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:28am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1