The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Batting out of order (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/97915-batting-out-order.html)

fdt92 Fri May 16, 2014 03:57pm

Batting out of order
 
Hypothetical - B2 and B3 bat in each others place (B1, B3, B2, B4) and both reach. B4 takes a pitch before the defense notices.

Now B3 should be at bat after B2, but is on base.

What can the off coach do?

Sub for B3 on the bases and have her finish the at bat?
What if no subs available ?

CPEM1 Fri May 16, 2014 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fdt92 (Post 934264)
Hypothetical - B2 and B3 bat in each others place (B1, B3, B2, B4) and both reach. B4 takes a pitch before the defense notices.

Now B3 should be at bat after B2, but is on base.

What can the off coach do?

Sub for B3 on the bases and have her finish the at bat?
What if no subs available ?

No, B4 is the correct batter at this point and a pitch has already been made, so there's nothing the defense can do to appeal at this point. Continue on with B4, then B5, B6, etc.

CecilOne Fri May 16, 2014 06:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CPEM1 (Post 934269)
No, B4 is the correct batter at this point and a pitch has already been made, so there's nothing the defense can do to appeal at this point. Continue on with B4, then B5, B6, etc.

If the B4 pitch had not happened, B2 is negated, B3 is out and B4 is up.

fdt92 Fri May 16, 2014 06:39pm

I thought if the batter after B2 (B4 in this case) takes a pitch, that legitimizes B2. Which would mean that B3 should be up to bat and if noticed while B4 is batting B3 would assume her (B4's) count.

Since B3 is "unable to bat", she would be out and then it's B4's at bat.

1 B1 skip
2 skip B2
3 B3 out?
4 skip B4
5 skip
6 skip
7 skip
8 skip
9 skip

fdt92 Fri May 16, 2014 06:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 934274)
If the B4 pitch had not happened, B2 is negated, B3 is out and B4 is up.

If B4 does not take a pitch, B2 is out for batting for B4 and now B5 is up. After B2 took a pitch, that reset the order to the batter after B3.

UmpireErnie Fri May 16, 2014 06:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fdt92 (Post 934276)
I thought if the batter after B2 (B4 in this case) takes a pitch, that legitimizes B2. Which would mean that B3 should be up to bat and if noticed while B4 is batting B3 would assume her (B4's) count.

Since B3 is "unable to bat", she would be out and then it's B4's at bat.

1 B1 skip
2 skip B2
3 B3 out? no
4 skip B4
5 skip
6 skip
7 skip
8 skip
9 skip

As soon as B4 takes pitch making B2s at bat legal, B3 loses her turn at bat because she is currently, legitimately on base. So B4 is by happy coincidence the proper batter and we play on.

Let's say instead of B4 it's B5 who comes up and takes a pitch after B2. (Team is really lost in space!). The defense appeals after the one pitch to B5. Again, the pitch to B5 makes B2s at bat legal and since B3 is on base she loses her turn and the proper batter is B4. B4 assumes B5s count and we play on.

agr8zebra Sat May 17, 2014 11:15pm

Nice reply

IRISHMAFIA Mon May 19, 2014 06:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fdt92 (Post 934264)
Hypothetical - B2 and B3 bat in each others place (B1, B3, B2, B4) and both reach. B4 takes a pitch before the defense notices.

Now B3 should be at bat after B2, but is on base.

What can the off coach do?

Sub for B3 on the bases and have her finish the at bat?
What if no subs available ?

Simple answer to your question: Nothing. Once the pitcher throws a pitch, legal or illegal, to the next batter, no appeal is available and all previous play is complete and legal.

Nothing else happens and the batting order remains the same as it appears on the official line-up card.

MD Longhorn Mon May 19, 2014 10:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fdt92 (Post 934277)
If B4 does not take a pitch, B2 is out for batting for B4 and now B5 is up. After B2 took a pitch, that reset the order to the batter after B3.

2 short sentences. 5 mistakes. This is completely incorrect.

fdt92 Mon May 19, 2014 10:06pm

How so?


FED 7-1-5
"When an improper batter (B3) becomes a proper batter because no appeal is properly made as above. The next batter shall be the batter whose name follows that of such legalized improper batter (B4). The instant an improper batter's actions are legalized, the batting order picks up with the name following that of the legalized improper batter."

So B2 batting in B4's spot is negated and B4 is out. Next batter is B5. ("If B4 does not take a pitch...")

Ultimately, this is what I was looking for 7-1-6

When several batters bat out of order, a runner will not be removed from a base to assume their proper batting position.
If a player is on base when their position in the batting order is reached, they will miss their turn at bat with no penalty.

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 20, 2014 07:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fdt92 (Post 934439)
How so?


FED 7-1-5
"When an improper batter (B3) becomes a proper batter because no appeal is properly made as above. The next batter shall be the batter whose name follows that of such legalized improper batter (B4). The instant an improper batter's actions are legalized, the batting order picks up with the name following that of the legalized improper batter."

So B2 batting in B4's spot is negated and B4 is out. Next batter is B5. ("If B4 does not take a pitch...")

Ultimately, this is what I was looking for 7-1-6

When several batters bat out of order, a runner will not be removed from a base to assume their proper batting position.
If a player is on base when their position in the batting order is reached, they will miss their turn at bat with no penalty.

Well, for starters, the wrong batter is NEVER declared out for BOO, the player who failed to bat is declared out.

You are making more of this than even remotely necessary. You have been given the correct responses a couple times now.

MD Longhorn Tue May 20, 2014 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fdt92 (Post 934277)
If B4 does not take a pitch, B2 is out for batting for B4

Wrong
Quote:

and now B5 is up.
Wrong.
Quote:

After B2 took a pitch, that reset the order to the batter after B3.
Wrong. OK. I exaggerated a tad. But every single word you said was part of an incorrect statement.

Dakota Tue May 20, 2014 11:01am

OK, this back and forth with 2 different scenarios is making following this tedious. Here is what fdt92 is trying to say (I think) in the modified scenario (no pitch thrown to B4).

B1, B3, B2, B4 and the defense appeals BOO when B4 steps into the box and no pitch has been thrown. B1,3, and 2 are on base.

B3 batted improperly for B2, but the defense did not appeal. Once a pitch was thrown to B2, B3's at-bat becomes legal and the batting order resumes from there.

This makes B4 the proper batter, with B2 batting improperly for B4. B2 gets on base.

The defense appeals B2 out of order before a pitch is thrown to B4. B4 (as the proper batter that B2 batted for) is declared out for failure to bat in turn, and B2's at-bat is negated, with B2 being removed from the bases and B1 and B3 returned to their bases at the time of the last pitch to B2.

B5 is now the batter due up.

That's what fdt92 is saying.

OK, explain how this is wrong. I don't think it is.

nopachunts Tue May 20, 2014 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 934474)
OK, this back and forth with 2 different scenarios is making following this tedious. Here is what fdt92 is trying to say (I think) in the modified scenario (no pitch thrown to B4).

B1, B3, B2, B4 and the defense appeals BOO when B4 steps into the box and no pitch has been thrown. B1,3, and 2 are on base.

B3 batted improperly for B2, but the defense did not appeal. Once a pitch was thrown to B2, B3's at-bat becomes legal and the batting order resumes from there.

This makes B4 the proper batter, with B2 batting improperly for B4. B2 gets on base.

The defense appeals B2 out of order before a pitch is thrown to B4. B4 (as the proper batter that B2 batted for) is declared out for failure to bat in turn, and B2's at-bat is negated, with B2 being removed from the bases and B1 and B3 returned to their bases at the time of the last pitch to B2.

B5 is now the batter due up.

That's what fdt92 is saying.

OK, explain how this is wrong. I don't think it is.


Correct batting order: B1, B2, B3, B4
Batting order for this scenario: B1, B3, B2, B4.


At the start of the batting order: B1 batted and reached base and a pitch was made to B3, B3 is now the proper batter without regard to B2 not batting. If B3 gets on base, B4 would be the proper batter. If B2 stepped into the box, and the defense appeals that B2 is the incorrect batter before a pitch is made, B2 goes back to the dugout and B4 comes to the box, no out assessed.


In your scenario, if a pitch is made to B2, B2 is now the proper batter. B2 gets on base. The proper batter after B2 reached base is now B4 as B3 is already on base and that spot in the batting order is skipped over without penalty.

UmpireErnie Tue May 20, 2014 05:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by nopachunts (Post 934493)
Correct batting order: B1, B2, B3, B4
Batting order for this scenario: B1, B3, B2, B4.

At the start of the batting order: B1 batted and reached base and a pitch was made to B3, B3 is now the proper batter without regard to B2 not batting.
No. B2 is the proper batter while improper batter B3 is at bat. Proper batter B2 could replace improper B3 at any time prior to improper B3 completing her improper turn at bat. But that didn't happen here instead improper B3 got on base.

If B3 gets on base, B4 would be the proper batter.
Not until a pitch is thrown to a batter following improper B3s time at bat. This is the defense's chance to appeal BOO: from the time improper B3 gets on base till the next pitch is thrown.

If B2 stepped into the box, and the defense appeals that B2 is the incorrect batter before a pitch is made, B2 goes back to the dugout and B4 comes to the box, no out assessed.
Improper B3 has just reached base, and B2 comes to bat. Defense appeals BOO before a pitch to B2. The appeal is honored. The batter called out is the batter who was supposed to bat when improper B3 batted, in this case it was B2. B3s improper turn is negated, other runners who advanced are returned. Since B2 was called out for missing her turn the next batter in order is B3

In your scenario, if a pitch is made to B2, B2 is now the proper batter. Not yet. B2 came to bat after improper B3 got on base. Throwing a pitch to B2 after B3 gets on makes improper B3s turn legal and the correct batter would be B4 as she follow B3. But B2 continues to bat..

B2 gets on base. The proper batter after B2 reached base is now B4 as B3 is already on base and that spot in the batting order is skipped over without penalty.

B4 was proper batter during B2s improper turn. If defense appeals before a pitch is made following B2 getting on base then B2s turn is negated and B4 is called out. Since B5 follows B4, B5 is now proper batter.

But if a pitch is thrown after improper B2 gets on and B3 is currently on base then yes skip over B3 and B4 is proper batter.

Dakota had is right.

IRISHMAFIA Tue May 20, 2014 05:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 934474)
OK, this back and forth with 2 different scenarios is making following this tedious. Here is what fdt92 is trying to say (I think) in the modified scenario (no pitch thrown to B4).

B1, B3, B2, B4 and the defense appeals BOO when B4 steps into the box and no pitch has been thrown. B1,3, and 2 are on base.

B3 batted improperly for B2, but the defense did not appeal. Once a pitch was thrown to B2, B3's at-bat becomes legal and the batting order resumes from there.

This makes B4 the proper batter, with B2 batting improperly for B4. B2 gets on base.

The defense appeals B2 out of order before a pitch is thrown to B4. B4 (as the proper batter that B2 batted for) is declared out for failure to bat in turn, and B2's at-bat is negated, with B2 being removed from the bases and B1 and B3 returned to their bases at the time of the last pitch to B2.

B5 is now the batter due up.

That's what fdt92 is trying to say.

OK, explain how this is wrong. I don't think it is.

Fixed that presumption for you. fdt92 CLEARLY stated "B4 takes a pitch before the defense notices."

That's the end of it right there. There is no "what if" available that is going to change anything involving the previous 3 batters no matter how hard someone is trying.

fdt92 Tue May 20, 2014 10:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 934274)
If the B4 pitch had not happened, B2 is negated, B3 is out and B4 is up.

Cecil first mentioned "if the b4 pitch had not happened..." scenario but his ruling that B4 is up instead of B5 had me wondering what I was missing.

I guess this is not a forum for a new umpire to seek advice.

All of the other forums I go to, it's the moderators that keep it civil, not the ones giving the rude answers with little explanation.

MD Longhorn Wed May 21, 2014 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fdt92 (Post 934539)
Cecil first mentioned "if the b4 pitch had not happened..." scenario but his ruling that B4 is up instead of B5 had me wondering what I was missing.

I guess this is not a forum for a new umpire to seek advice.

All of the other forums I go to, it's the moderators that keep it civil, not the ones giving the rude answers with little explanation.

If you're looking for advice, you're in the right place. If you're going to post answers as fact, and those answers are wrong, I would expect you to get corrected on any forum - wouldn't you? I didn't reiterate the correct answer because it had already been given.

Dakota Wed May 21, 2014 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fdt92 (Post 934277)
If B4 does not take a pitch, B2 is out for batting for B4 and now B5 is up. After B2 took a pitch, that reset the order to the batter after B3.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 934386)
2 short sentences. 5 mistakes. This is completely incorrect.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 934558)
If you're looking for advice, you're in the right place. If you're going to post answers as fact, and those answers are wrong, I would expect you to get corrected on any forum - wouldn't you? I didn't reiterate the correct answer because it had already been given.

That fine, and I agree this is a good umpire board that is generally friendly to new umpires (and even to coaches and fans), but wasn't his post regarding the modified scenario (which you replied as completely incorrect) actually correct?

MD Longhorn Wed May 21, 2014 12:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 934563)
That fine, and I agree this is a good umpire board that is generally friendly to new umpires (and even to coaches and fans), but wasn't his post regarding the modified scenario (which you replied as completely incorrect) actually correct?

Hmmm... ok, if he was posting about the modified scenario, I suppose it was only wrong once, and not 5 (or 3) times. My apologies if my response was too strong.

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 21, 2014 09:26pm

This is why when discussion a scenario (as opposed to a rule or application), it is in everyone's best interest to start another thread.

However, if that doesn't happen, the poster should reference the scenario to which s/he is replying.

CecilOne Thu May 22, 2014 08:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 934636)
This is why when discussion a scenario (as opposed to a rule or application), it is in everyone's best interest to start another thread.

ditto!

Dakota Thu May 22, 2014 10:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 934636)
This is why when discussion a scenario (as opposed to a rule or application), it is in everyone's best interest to start another thread.

However, if that doesn't happen, the poster should reference the scenario to which s/he is replying.

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 934654)
ditto!

Dreamers! :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1