The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Question on ASA RS #33 (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/97369-question-asa-rs-33-a.html)

Manny A Thu Mar 06, 2014 08:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 925843)
We had this play in the Western Regional in 2012 and the umpires ruled the runner out and added a strike to the count. This would have been the correct ruling for NFHS, but we were told it was incorrect for ASA.

Totally agree if the foul fly was catchable with ordinary effort. But if the infielder could have possibly made a running over-the-shoulder catch if she had not been hindered, I just don't understand why ASA would state that the runner is not out in that case.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Mar 06, 2014 08:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 925915)
Totally agree if the foul fly was catchable with ordinary effort. But if the infielder could have possibly made a running over-the-shoulder catch if she had not been hindered, I just don't understand why ASA would state that the runner is not out in that case.

ASA makes no such assertion, but leaves it to the umpire's judgment.

And as I routinely point out in clinics, ASAs rules are often not of a punitive nature. Some of that is to avoid umpires from arbitrarily giving away outs like candy on Halloween. IOW, the possibility of an out needs to be of a very high percentage to be ruled.

Manny A Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 925920)
IOW, the possibility of an out needs to be of a very high percentage to be ruled.

Wow. This is a first for me. I've never heard this as a criterion. I have always believed that the protected fielder has the maximum benefit of the doubt when it comes to interference.

jmkupka Thu Mar 06, 2014 03:42pm

It's often been posted here that we don't wait to see the result of the interference before calling INT.

F3 bolts to her left on contact and runs hard into 1b coach. Ball lands next to the fence, maybe beyond F3's reach, maybe not, we'll never know.

I called INT (from my position at C) right after the collision, ball a little before or after its apex.

One p.o.'d coach... I lost no sleep on that one.

MD Longhorn Thu Mar 06, 2014 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by jmkupka (Post 926013)
It's often been posted here that we don't wait to see the result of the interference before calling INT.

F3 bolts to her left on contact and runs hard into 1b coach. Ball lands next to the fence, maybe beyond F3's reach, maybe not, we'll never know.

I called INT (from my position at C) right after the collision, ball a little before or after its apex.

One p.o.'d coach... I lost no sleep on that one.

If you felt the catch was likely (or probable), that call would be correct. I've never been told the catch needs to be nearly certain. In fact, since the wording is nearly identical - we've been told to have the same expectation of a likely catch on this as we would in calling IFF.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1