The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Tue Aug 12, 2003, 04:27pm
Official Forum Member

Question

I've been umping fastpitch for a few years now, and still am using some "starter" equipment. Wondering if anyone has recommendations on good, comfortable plate shoes, and, a lightweight mask. Do you have to buy the costly +POS to get a lighter mask? Thanks!!
Old Tue Aug 12, 2003, 05:04pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by TruBlu
Wondering if anyone has recommendations on good, comfortable plate shoes, and, a lightweight mask. Do you have to buy the costly +POS to get a lighter mask? Thanks!!
I wear Honig's plate shoes. They have served me well and are relatively economical. I'd recommend the high tops. For the mask, the composites are the lightest, but there are lightweight wire frame masks, too. They weigh much less than the heavy style, but more than the composites. But, they cost much less, too.

I recommend the Wilson West Vest single bar lightweight mask - costs about $50 with standard pads, a bit more with better pads.

Here is a link with one on-line source:
Lester Upstate Sports
Old Tue Aug 12, 2003, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member