The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   OBS call (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/96408-obs-call.html)

IRISHMAFIA Sun Oct 27, 2013 08:48am

OBS call
 
Well, both umpires had the call. 3BU did it correctly, PU, IMO, had it right, but not the proper mechanics, even for MLB

Play is here

BTW, this is also a great example as to why you discuss issue with one team representative and that is it. You ended up with 6 umpires providing personal explanations for 20 people. Should have discussed it with the manager and left the field

CecilOne Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 908984)
Well, both umpires had the call. 3BU did it correctly, PU, IMO, had it right, but not the proper mechanics, even for MLB

Play is here

BTW, this is also a great example as to why you discuss issue with one team representative and that is it. You ended up with 6 umpires providing personal explanations for 20 people. Should have discussed it with the manager and left the field

Do you think the leg-raising is what decided the call?

DRJ1960 Sun Oct 27, 2013 12:17pm

The way I am hearing virtually everyone who will comment for the record explain the play, if Middlebrooks had been killed on the play and his body was tripped over by Craig, the call is the same.

EsqUmp Sun Oct 27, 2013 02:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 908984)
Well, both umpires had the call. 3BU did it correctly, PU, IMO, had it right, but not the proper mechanics, even for MLB

Play is here

BTW, this is also a great example as to why you discuss issue with one team representative and that is it. You ended up with 6 umpires providing personal explanations for 20 people. Should have discussed it with the manager and left the field

What are the proper mechanics for MLB?

Rita C Sun Oct 27, 2013 02:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 909027)
The way I am hearing virtually everyone who will comment for the record explain the play, if Middlebrooks had been killed on the play and his body was tripped over by Craig, the call is the same.

Very funny.

Rita

DRJ1960 Sun Oct 27, 2013 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rita C (Post 909039)
Very funny.

Rita

But accurate.

BretMan Sun Oct 27, 2013 06:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 909034)
What are the proper mechanics for MLB?

Same as most softball. When the obstructed runner is tagged out the ball is dead, the umpire is to call time and then award the base.

DeMuth just gave a safe signal, then pointed at third base.

Dakota Sun Oct 27, 2013 06:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BretMan (Post 909050)
Same as most softball. When the obstructed runner is tagged out the ball is dead, the umpire is to call time and then award the base.

DeMuth just gave a safe signal, then pointed at third base.

While the mechanic was incorrect, what he did probably did a better job than the correct mechanics would have of indicating what the call was to the millions watching (as well as to the talking heads).

IRISHMAFIA Sun Oct 27, 2013 07:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 909051)
While the mechanic was incorrect, what he did probably did a better job than the correct mechanics would have of indicating what the call was to the millions watching (as well as to the talking heads).

At no point did the PU indicate OBS. And MLB clearly states that when there is a play on an obstructed runner, the umpire shall call "time" with both hand overhead. This isn't an interpretation, it isn't part of any "given" mechanics, the rule dictates the umpire shall act in this manner and instead, it looked like a vertically- challenged umpire trying to point over everyone toward the spot the OBS occurred and the time of the call and when he should have been declaring "time".

IOW, the umpire is to kill the play, then make the ruling. In this case, when two umpire make a call on the same runner, they should get together to ensure they are on the same page with the same call.

AtlUmpSteve Sun Oct 27, 2013 07:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by EsqUmp (Post 909034)
What are the proper mechanics for MLB?

To my knowledge, the only difference between softball and baseball in this mechanic is that softball umpires declare a "dead ball", then administer the effect of the obstruction; in baseball, they call "time", to make it a dead ball, then administer the effect.

Now, the effects may be different; but the mechanic is if the obstructed runner is apparently out when protected, the umpire is to kill the play (dead ball or time called), NOT declare out nor safe on the initial play.

txtrooper Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 908984)
Well, both umpires had the call. 3BU did it correctly, PU, IMO, had it right, but not the proper mechanics, even for MLB

Play is here

BTW, this is also a great example as to why you discuss issue with one team representative and that is it. You ended up with 6 umpires providing personal explanations for 20 people. Should have discussed it with the manager and left the field

Agreed!

MD Longhorn Mon Oct 28, 2013 08:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dakota (Post 909051)
While the mechanic was incorrect, what he did probably did a better job than the correct mechanics would have of indicating what the call was to the millions watching (as well as to the talking heads).

I disagree ... I think he muddied things by calling safe when he was not (yet) safe. I still don't think Craig has touched home plate. Perhaps he does if the mechanics are done right ... and perhaps if he still doesn't, Boston appeals correctly if the mechanics are done right... but we'll never know.

Also - PU did not know what award 3BU had in mind - so he's not the one that awards home.

Dakota Mon Oct 28, 2013 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 909053)
At no point did the PU indicate OBS. And MLB clearly states that when there is a play on an obstructed runner, the umpire shall call "time" with both hand overhead. This isn't an interpretation, it isn't part of any "given" mechanics, the rule dictates the umpire shall act in this manner and instead, it looked like a vertically- challenged umpire trying to point over everyone toward the spot the OBS occurred and the time of the call and when he should have been declaring "time".

IOW, the umpire is to kill the play, then make the ruling. In this case, when two umpire make a call on the same runner, they should get together to ensure they are on the same page with the same call.

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 909097)
I disagree ... I think he muddied things by calling safe when he was not (yet) safe. I still don't think Craig has touched home plate. Perhaps he does if the mechanics are done right ... and perhaps if he still doesn't, Boston appeals correctly if the mechanics are done right... but we'll never know.

Also - PU did not know what award 3BU had in mind - so he's not the one that awards home.

None of the fans watching (well, few of the fans watching) even know the difference between interference and obstruction, let alone the correct mechanic or what the rule says the umpire should do. They don't care, either, given the on-going discussion among the fans / media, where the argument that the fielder was just doing what he was supposed to do, etc., etc... (latest being Mike Golic on ESPN's Mike and Mike this morning).

What the PU did was communicate "runner safe due to the call my partner made at 3rd." Should he have done that? Well, by the book (or even by sound umpiring standards), no. Were there things that could have happened (e.g. Boston appealing) that would have resulted in a big mess? Absolutely.

But, no one watching was confused as to what the call was or why. JMO, of course.

I haven't heard a single fan, commentator, talking head, sports show host, etc., who was confused about what the call was.

Whereas killing the ball and conferring with the 3rd base umpire on the award.... really.... how do you think THAT would have worked out in the fan-base, media, etc.?

My point was that the way he did it better communicated to the fans what was going on, and I'll add to that: it also better sold the call than the correct mechanics would have.

Again, JMO.

CecilOne Mon Oct 28, 2013 09:24am

OK AGREE, but this forum is also about improving ourselves as umpires and knowing our mechanics. :cool:

My leg-raising question still stands. :rolleyes:

Found it interesting that in 4 games of 14&U, 12&U on Saturday; there was only one OBS. :)

MNBlue Mon Oct 28, 2013 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 909053)
At no point did the PU indicate OBS. And MLB clearly states that when there is a play on an obstructed runner, the umpire shall call "time" with both hand overhead. This isn't an interpretation, it isn't part of any "given" mechanics, the rule dictates the umpire shall act in this manner and instead, it looked like a vertically- challenged umpire trying to point over everyone toward the spot the OBS occurred and the time of the call and when he should have been declaring "time".

IOW, the umpire is to kill the play, then make the ruling. In this case, when two umpire make a call on the same runner, they should get together to ensure they are on the same page with the same call.

Not to cut the PU any slack, because he is working at a much higher level with much more on the line than anything I have ever officiated, but I heard yesterday that the was the first obstruction call in MLB since 2004. It obviously isn't a mechanic they use very often.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:05am

I'm one of those that is wondering if the runner ever did touch the plate. But when the umpire called him safe when he clearly was tagged out before reaching home was initially confusing.

I suspected OBS was going to be the call but watching it live the first time, it wasn't obvious to me. All I focused on was yet another throw from the plate area sailing off into never land.

BTW, Nava did a great job of backing up that throw, getting to the ball, and making a great throw himself. None of which will be remembered.

This is certainly going down as one of the more unconventional World Series. Not sure if it will ever qualify as a classic.

Rich Ives Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue (Post 909104)
I heard yesterday that the was the first obstruction call in MLB since 2004. .

Not at all true. Not even close.

Rich Ives Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 909000)
Do you think the leg-raising is what decided the call?

Nope. There is no intent required in the rule.

Rich Ives Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 909053)
At no point did the PU indicate OBS. And MLB clearly states that when there is a play on an obstructed runner, the umpire shall call "time" with both hand overhead. This isn't an interpretation, it isn't part of any "given" mechanics, the rule dictates the umpire shall act in this manner and instead, it looked like a vertically- challenged umpire trying to point over everyone toward the spot the OBS occurred and the time of the call and when he should have been declaring "time".

IOW, the umpire is to kill the play, then make the ruling. In this case, when two umpire make a call on the same runner, they should get together to ensure they are on the same page with the same call.

If you go watch the replays you will see Demuth (PU) pointing at 3B just after the obstruction and as the runner was headed home.

There was no play being made on the obstructed runner. At the time of the obstruction the ball was loose in LF.

In this case (OBR rule 7.06(b )) play continues and ends when playing action ceases. At that time the umpires may award whatever they feel is necessary to negate the obstruction. This can be nothing if they think the runner would have been out anyhow and range to awarding the run as they did here.

MNBlue Mon Oct 28, 2013 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 909116)
Not at all true. Not even close.

I was just repeating.

Manny A Mon Oct 28, 2013 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 909119)
In this case (OBR rule 7.06(b )) play continues and ends when playing action ceases.

Be careful. It also ends when the obstructed runner is put out, and the out is going to get nullifed due to the obstruction.

If this had been the game-tying run, for example, the play would have been killed when the tag was made, and there would not have been an opportunity for the defense to play on the batter-runner.

But I know you know that.

Manny A Mon Oct 28, 2013 01:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 909112)
This is certainly going down as one of the more unconventional World Series. Not sure if it will ever qualify as a classic.

It has been one of the more eventful World Series. The overturn of the Out call at second base in Game 1, the two errors on one play in Game 2, the obstruction call in Game 3, the pickoff to end a game in Game 4. It seems like every game is providing something you don't see every day.

CecilOne Mon Oct 28, 2013 04:49pm

Quote:
Originally Posted by CecilOne
Do you think the leg-raising is what decided the call?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 909117)
Nope. There is no intent required in the rule.

Do you see "intent" anywhere in my question? :confused:

IRISHMAFIA Mon Oct 28, 2013 07:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives (Post 909119)
If you go watch the replays you will see Demuth (PU) pointing at 3B just after the obstruction and as the runner was headed home.

And pointing toward a general area that is not of the umpire's general assignment from the other side of the next closest base and everyone is supposed to know what that means? Seems to me the U3 saw the OBS in his general area of responsibility and either pointed with left hand or extended it for a moment. That I immediately recognized, as probably did many, if not most folks familiar with the game.

Quote:

There was no play being made on the obstructed runner. At the time of the obstruction the ball was loose in LF. In this case (OBR rule 7.06(b )) play continues and ends when playing action ceases.
I know this is going to come down to semantics, but...

MLB rule 7.06(a) states that when a play is made on the OBS runner, the umpire shall call time. Nowhere does it state that such a play be made by the defender who caused the OBS. To me, when the catcher tags the OBS runner, that is your play which ends action.

Quote:

At that time the umpires may award whatever they feel is necessary to negate the obstruction. This can be nothing if they think the runner would have been out anyhow and range to awarding the run as they did here.
But if you want to stick with 7.06(a), that states "The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base he had last legally touched before the obstruction."

HugoTafurst Tue Oct 29, 2013 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 909195)
And pointing toward a general area that is not of the umpire's general assignment from the other side of the next closest base and everyone is supposed to know what that means? Seems to me the U3 saw the OBS in his general area of responsibility and either pointed with left hand or extended it for a moment. That I immediately recognized, as probably did many, if not most folks familiar with the game.



I know this is going to come down to semantics, but...

MLB rule 7.06(a) states that when a play is made on the OBS runner, the umpire shall call time. Nowhere does it state that such a play be made by the defender who caused the OBS. To me, when the catcher tags the OBS runner, that is your play which ends action.



But if you want to stick with 7.06(a), that states "The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base he had last legally touched before the obstruction."

As I understand it, 7.06(a) applies if a play is being made on the obstructed runner at the time of the obstruction. That is where the 1 base award beyond the last base touched comes into play. (Picture a pick off at first - or any base)
Quote:

(a) If a play is being made on the obstructed runner, or if the batter-runner is obstructed
before he touches first base, the ball is dead and all runners shall advance, without
liability to be put out, to the bases they would have reached, in the umpire’s judgment,
if there had been no obstruction. The obstructed runner shall be awarded at
least one base beyond the base he had last legally touched before the obstruction.
Any preceding runners, forced to advance by the award of bases as the penalty for
obstruction, shall advance without liability to be put out.
Rule 7.06(a) Comment: When a play is being made on an obstructed runner, the umpire shall
signal obstruction in the same manner that he calls “Time,” with both hands overhead. The ball is
immediately dead when this signal is given; however, should a thrown ball be in flight before the
obstruction is called by the umpire, the runners are to be awarded such bases on wild throws as they
would have been awarded had not obstruction occurred. On a play where a runner was trapped
between second and third and obstructed by the third baseman going into third base while the throw is
in flight from the shortstop, if such throw goes into the dugout the obstructed runner is to be awarded
home base. Any other runners on base in this situation would also be awarded two bases from the base
they last legally touched before obstruction was called.
(b)
The situation the other night was "Type B" where the runner was obstructed before any play was being made on him at the time of the obstruction.
Quote:

(b) If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play shall proceed until no
further action is possible. The umpire shall then call “Time” and impose such
penalties, if any, as in his judgment will nullify the act of obstruction.
Rule 7.06(b) Comment: Under 7.06(b) when the ball is not dead on obstruction and an
obstructed runner advances beyond the base which, in the umpire’s judgment, he would have been
awarded because of being obstructed, he does so at his own peril and may be tagged out. This is a
judgment call.
NOTE: The catcher, without the ball in his possession, has no right to block the pathway of
the runner attempting to score. The base line belongs to the runner and the catcher should be there only
when he is fielding a ball or when he already has the ball in his hand.
7.07 If, with a runner on third base and trying to score by means of a squeeze play or a
steal, the catcher or any other fielder steps on, or in front of home base without possession
of the ball, or touches the batter or his bat, the pitcher shall be charged with a balk, the batter
shall be awarded first base on the interference and the ball is dead.
64

IRISHMAFIA Tue Oct 29, 2013 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 909249)
As I understand it, 7.06(a) applies if a play is being made on the obstructed runner at the time of the obstruction. That is where the 1 base award beyond the last base touched comes into play. (Picture a pick off at first - or any base)


The situation the other night was "Type B" where the runner was obstructed before any play was being made on him at the time of the obstruction.

Hugo, I do understand that. I could have been a little clearer as I was referring to the wording of 7.06 in general which is why I noted it probably come down to semantics. Personally, I could never understand the need or intelligence behind having more than one application. What difference does it make whether there is an attempted play on the runner at the time or not, he was still obstructed and possibly could advance farther had it not occurred, or not.

HugoTafurst Tue Oct 29, 2013 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 909278)
Hugo, I do understand that. I could have been a little clearer as I was referring to the wording of 7.06 in general which is why I noted it probably come down to semantics. Personally, I could never understand the need or intelligence behind having more than one application. What difference does it make whether there is an attempted play on the runner at the time or not, he was still obstructed and possibly could advance farther had it not occurred, or not.

I figured that, just figured I'd throw in my 2 cents worth to clarify it for anyone who was less familiar with the baseball rule.
Turns out having the ability to cut and paste the whole thing made it more like contributing a $1.45 than 2 cents.

hog Tue Oct 29, 2013 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue (Post 909104)
...I heard yesterday that the was the first obstruction call in MLB since 2004.

It was the first time a game has ended on an obstruction call since 2004.

MichaelVA2000 Tue Oct 29, 2013 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 909027)
The way I am hearing virtually everyone who will comment for the record explain the play, if Middlebrooks had been killed on the play and his body was tripped over by Craig, the call is the same.

Dead on!

Manny A Tue Oct 29, 2013 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 909278)
Personally, I could never understand the need or intelligence behind having more than one application. What difference does it make whether there is an attempted play on the runner at the time or not, he was still obstructed and possibly could advance farther had it not occurred, or not.

The reason behind splitting the two in pro baseball rules is to provide for a harsher penalty against the defense should they obstruct a runner during a play.

For example, a runner caught in a rundown between third and home is obstructed as he attempts to dive back into third base. If it was one catch-all obstruction rule as it is in other organizations, the award would be third base, since that's the base he would have achieved minus the obstruction. But the MLB rule mandates an award of home for the runner.

The real question is, Why the need for a harsher penalty? I dunno. Maybe the rulesmakers felt that without it, it would lead to unwanted shenanigans by the defense. Suppose when a pitcher throws to first base to hold the runner, the first baseman intentionally positioning himself in the runner's path back to the bag to prevent him from accessing it. Calling obstruction and putting the runner safely on first doesn't prevent the first baseman from continuing to do this until, by chance, they do throw a runner out just before the hindrance takes place. Awarding the runner second base after the first obstruction violation puts an immediate end to this.

Andy Tue Oct 29, 2013 02:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 909307)
The reason behind splitting the two in pro baseball rules is to provide for a harsher penalty against the defense should they obstruct a runner during a play.

For example, a runner caught in a rundown between third and home is obstructed as he attempts to dive back into third base. If it was one catch-all obstruction rule as it is in other organizations, the award would be third base, since that's the base he would have achieved minus the obstruction. But the MLB rule mandates an award of home for the runner.

The real question is, Why the need for a harsher penalty? I dunno. Maybe the rulesmakers felt that without it, it would lead to unwanted shenanigans by the defense. Suppose when a pitcher throws to first base to hold the runner, the first baseman intentionally positioning himself in the runner's path back to the bag to prevent him from accessing it. Calling obstruction and putting the runner safely on first doesn't prevent the first baseman from continuing to do this until, by chance, they do throw a runner out just before the hindrance takes place. Awarding the runner second base after the first obstruction violation puts an immediate end to this.

Good theory, Manny....


NFHS tried a similar tactic with their softball rules several years back...the penalty for obstruction was to advance the runner at least one base. Didn't matter where the obstruction was, which direction the runner was heading, the degree of the severity of the obstruction, etc. If obstruction was called, the runner got the next base automatically.

What happened was that umpires became reluctant to call obstruction since the penalty was so harsh. Basically, a defender had to knock somebody over in order for obstruction to be called.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1