The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   interference with batted ball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/9587-interference-batted-ball.html)

nelyak Sun Aug 03, 2003 04:00am

Situation:
Runner leaves 2nd when hit ball deflects off glove or body of pitcher and hits runner. Short is directly behind the runner attempting to field the ball.

Is the runner safe or out?
Does the contact with pitcher matter if it is body or glove?
Does contact with pitcher negate portion of rule which states "or another fielder has opportunity to make play"?

nelyak Sun Aug 03, 2003 04:02am

interference addition
 
I forgot to say that the runner was hit by the batted ball

Tap Sun Aug 03, 2003 08:09am

runner hit by ball
 
If the ball hits the pitcher (body, glove, equipment, etc.) or other fielder for that matter, the runner will not be ruled out for interference unless the runner could have avoided contact with the ball. ASA Rule 8-8-F. I guess that's similar to the runner being out only if she/he intentionally contacted the ball, though the rule seems to place slightly more responsibility on the runner to make an attempt to avoid the ball. In practice, these may be nearly the same standards. If it looks like the runner tried to get out of the way or did not have the opportunity to do so, then no call.

In your situation, sounds like a no call.

TruBlu Tue Aug 12, 2003 08:48pm

I think if the shortstop had a reasonable chance to make a play, then the runner is out. If a batted ball deflects off of a fielder, but another fielder has a chance at a play, the runner will be called out in most cases, whether or not she tries to get out of the way.

Little Jimmy Tue Aug 12, 2003 09:14pm

It would seem that ASA 8-7-K would indicate that the runner is out if another player had a chance to field the ball in the situation you stated.

IRISHMAFIA Tue Aug 12, 2003 09:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TruBlu
I think if the shortstop had a reasonable chance to make a play, then the runner is out. If a batted ball deflects off of a fielder, but another fielder has a chance at a play, the runner will be called out in most cases, whether or not she tries to get out of the way.
Speaking ASA

I think Tap has it right. It basically must be an intentional act on behalf of the runner who makes contact with the deflected ball for the umpire to rule interference. Whether a defender has a play or not is irrelevent.

ASA 8.8.F
ASA Casebook 8.9-6
ASA Clinic Guide Page 49

WestMichBlue Tue Aug 12, 2003 10:05pm

I think that 8.4.F is a little more precise. "When a fair batted ball has been touched by an infielder, including the pitcher, and the runner did not intentionally interfere with the batted ball or the fielder attempting to field the batted ball. Effect: The ball is in play."

WMB

IRISHMAFIA Tue Aug 12, 2003 10:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by WestMichBlue
I think that 8.4.F is a little more precise. "When a fair batted ball has been touched by an infielder, including the pitcher, and the runner did not intentionally interfere with the batted ball or the fielder attempting to field the batted ball. Effect: The ball is in play."

WMB

Correct you are.

Dakota Tue Aug 12, 2003 11:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Little Jimmy
It would seem that ASA 8-7-K would indicate that the runner is out if another player had a chance to field the ball in the situation you stated.
No, 8-7K does not apply since the ball has been deflected. Notice 8-7K says, <font color=blue>"When the runner is struck with a fair <u>untouched</u> batted ball ... "</font>

The correct rule has already been cited.

Del-Blue Wed Aug 13, 2003 08:24am

I think most of the time you will get the out on the runner that is hit, because they think they are out, and usually give up. This makes an out by the fielder almost certain. I have had this play many times during AA slowpitch.

greymule Wed Aug 13, 2003 10:20am

The interference has to be intentional. ASA clarified this last year or the year before, as it was a bit ambiguous.

Now how about a runner who unintentionally interferes with a fielder attempting to field a deflected ball?

Dakota Wed Aug 13, 2003 10:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
Now how about a runner who unintentionally interferes with a fielder attempting to field a deflected {batted] ball?
(ASA) If intentional & the fielder had an opportunity to make an out, the runner is out (Rule 8-7J.5). If unintentional, it is live ball, play on.

(Answer corrected with edit - I misread greymule's post; I missed the un in front of intentionally)

[Edited by Dakota on Aug 13th, 2003 at 01:18 PM]

TruBlu Wed Aug 13, 2003 12:11pm

Intentional or unintentional, do you really want to make that distinction? If the ASA wants the ump to make every call on a runner hit by a batted ball based on the intent, they are asking us to take on an argument we don't need. 99 out of 100 times if a runner is hit by a fair batted ball and not in contact with a base, while a fielder has a chance to make a play, the runner will be called out.

Dakota Wed Aug 13, 2003 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TruBlu
Intentional or unintentional, do you really want to make that distinction?
Want to or not, the rules required it.
Quote:

If the ASA wants the ump to make every call on a runner hit by a batted ball based on the intent, they are asking us to take on an argument we don't need. 99 out of 100 times if a runner is hit by a fair batted ball and not in contact with a base, while a fielder has a chance to make a play, the runner will be called out.
No, intent only needs to be ruled if the batted ball is deflected AND hits a runner AND another fielder had an opportunity for an out. The rule is to be fair to the runner - the runner is obligated to stay out of the way of the defense, but can't be held responsible for a deflected ball that changes direction suddenly. Therefore, intent on the part of the runner is required.

How do you guage intent? Some indicators are obvious - reaching out, etc. Others are more subtle - slow roller deflects off F1 toward F5. R1, running from second, has ample opportunity to go around F5 or the ball, but does not change path and is hit by the ball. Judgment - did the runner intentionally get in the way, or was there any indication the runner attempted to get out of the way?

Little Jimmy Thu Aug 14, 2003 08:27am

I stand corrected on my misreading of 8-7-K.

Tap Sat Aug 16, 2003 08:45am

deflected ball
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
Now how about a runner who unintentionally interferes with a fielder attempting to field a deflected {batted] ball?
(ASA) If intentional & the fielder had an opportunity to make an out, the runner is out (Rule 8-7J.5). If unintentional, it is live ball, play on.

(Answer corrected with edit - I misread greymule's post; I missed the un in front of intentionally)

[Edited by Dakota on Aug 13th, 2003 at 01:18 PM]

I'm not sure if this is in writing anywhere, but at an ASA clinic I recall hearing a rough "one step" rule, meaning even if unintentional, the runner will be out if, say, F4 bobbles and is about to pick the ball up and the runner accidentally runs into F4. The ball was with within a step, so give the fielder the benefit of the doubt. But if the ball squirts far away after F4 bobbles, then the runner will not be called out for accidentally contacting F4. Again, I just recall hearing this rough rule of thumb--not sure if I am recalling correctly. Perhaps if the ball is that close, intentional interference by the runner is inferred, as the runner could have gone around the fielder and avoided contact.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Aug 16, 2003 09:06am

Re: deflected ball
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Tap


I'm not sure if this is in writing anywhere, but at an ASA clinic I recall hearing a rough "one step" rule, meaning even if unintentional, the runner will be out if, say, F4 bobbles and is about to pick the ball up and the runner accidentally runs into F4. The ball was with within a step, so give the fielder the benefit of the doubt. But if the ball squirts far away after F4 bobbles, then the runner will not be called out for accidentally contacting F4. Again, I just recall hearing this rough rule of thumb--not sure if I am recalling correctly. Perhaps if the ball is that close, intentional interference by the runner is inferred, as the runner could have gone around the fielder and avoided contact.

ASA Case Book Play 8.9.3

R1 on 3B with no outs. B3 hits a gound ball to F6 who muffs the ball (a) in front and is still able to make an out, or (b) and the ball goes over F6's shoulder. In both cases, the runner R1 hits F6 unintentionally.

RULING: In (a) if F6 can still make an out, dead ball and interference would be called. In (b) the runner R1 had tried to avoid the play by running behind the fielder and this would be considered an incidental contact rather than interference (8.8D; 8.7K)


greymule Sat Aug 16, 2003 07:08pm

These are good points, and I'm glad you posted them.

However, these plays are not really a "deflected" ball. I agree that if there's a ground ball to F4 that hits him in the chest and falls in front of him, then interference by the runner does not have to be intentional. F4 is where he would have been had he fielded the ball cleanly. But I don't think we're talking about a deflected ball in that case.

A ball that ricochets off the pitcher toward F4 is another matter. On that play, I think interference has to be intentional.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Aug 17, 2003 07:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
These are good points, and I'm glad you posted them.

However, these plays are not really a "deflected" ball. I agree that if there's a ground ball to F4 that hits him in the chest and falls in front of him, then interference by the runner does not have to be intentional. F4 is where he would have been had he fielded the ball cleanly. But I don't think we're talking about a deflected ball in that case.

A ball that ricochets off the pitcher toward F4 is another matter. On that play, I think interference has to be intentional.

I was responding directly to Tap's post, which is why I quoted it as part of the response. I am very much aware that it has nothing to do with a deflected ball, thank you.


greymule Sun Aug 17, 2003 08:40am

I know you are aware of the distinction, Mike. Just wanted to clarify.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Aug 17, 2003 08:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
I know you are aware of the distinction, Mike. Just wanted to clarify.
Okay. I guess I should have put one of these at the end of the last post:

:)

DownTownTonyBrown Mon Aug 18, 2003 02:29pm

HInt hint
 
As several of you have hinted but no one has precisely said it (and I'm not sure this answer is precise - it seems awful long to be precise):):

Once the ball is hit (by the bat), the defense must be afforded opportunity to field the hit ball. If the runner interferes with this opportunity, then the runner shall be called out.

Once the defense has had their opportunity (muffed or deflected the ball), the runner is no longer in jeopardy if he is hit. His act would be unintentional if the deflected ball were to hit him - the defense caused the ball to hit him. You can't call a runner out for that; even if another defensive player were in a position to make a play. The runner was only hit because the ball was deflected into him by the defense. LIVE BALL. PLAY ON.

Now, the ball is deflected and dribbling toward the shortstop and the runner collides as the SS fields the ball. Umpire must make a judgement of the runner's intention. The SS MUST go to the ball to make his fielding effort (even after it has been deflected). The runner, however, can run anywhere. Therefore, the greater responsibility for the collision, or avoidance of a collision, is upon the runner.

If the shortstop is capable of making a position adjustment to field the ball, the runner should also be capable of making a similar adjustment to avoid the collision. If the adjustment is not made by the runner and a collision occurs, I have intent and the runner is going to be called out.

Intent is not really that difficult. Was there opportunity for the runner to alter his course; did the runner make an effort to avoid the collision?

If the answer to the opportunity question is no, then there can be no intent to collide. Live ball; play on.

If the answer to the opportunity is yes and an effort was made, again, live ball, play on.

If the answer to the opportunity is yes but it seemed that no effort was made or that the runner created contact (hoping to disrupt the play) then I've got DEAD BALL, RUNNER IS OUT. And if the contact is egregious, I may have an ejection, and I would have no qualms calling another runner out if I felt there was defensive opportunity for a double play.

Seems pretty basic. See the big picture. :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1