The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Aug 02, 2003, 12:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 994
Quote:
Originally posted by Russell1027
ASA game
IFF, ball popped up between catcher and pitcher; F2 catches the ball in fair territory near foul line. Runner on first takes 4 or 5 steps off the base - awaits the catch - then retreats. F2 fires a rocket to F3 to catch the runner off first. Timing play or tag play?

Force is removed - but the ball was caught. Thoughts?
Technically, this play is a live ball appeal, since the defense is making an appeal that the runner left the base prior to a caught fly ball first being touched. If a fielder with the ball touches the base, or properly tags the runner, before the runner returns to the base, then the runner is out. You are correct, it is not a force play.

See thread titled, "Where did these guys learn the rules?"

[Edited by SC Ump on Aug 2nd, 2003 at 12:27 PM]
__________________
Dan
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1