The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Where did these guys learn the rules? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/9558-where-did-these-guys-learn-rules.html)

greymule Thu Jul 31, 2003 10:23pm

Men's SP game, friend of mine umping. League division purportedly fairly strong.

Cretin on 2B, Gudgeon on 1B, 1 out. Mooncalf hits a popup that F4 can handle easily. Ump calls infield fly. Gudgeon stands 15 feet off 1B while F4 flips to F3 to double him off.

So many players argued that "you can't get doubled up on an infield fly" that my buddy actually started to doubt himself.


bluezebra Thu Jul 31, 2003 11:03pm

"Where did these guys learn the rules?"

They don't. And that's the problem.

Bob

Dakota Thu Jul 31, 2003 11:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
"you can't get doubled up on an infield fly"
Actually, that is true - for a force out double play. ;) However, you can be called out on a live ball appeal! :D

bluezebra Fri Aug 01, 2003 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dakota
Quote:

Originally posted by greymule
"you can't get doubled up on an infield fly"
Actually, that is true - for a force out double play. ;) However, you can be called out on a live ball appeal! :D

No appeal necessary in this situation. This is not a missed base. Runner off base. Ball caught. Throw beats runner back to base. OUT!

Bob

SC Ump Sat Aug 02, 2003 07:16am

Quote:

Originally posted by bluezebra

No appeal necessary in this situation. This is not a missed base. Runner off base. Ball caught. Throw beats runner back to base. OUT!

Bob

But why did the defense throw the ball back to the base? I was thinking it was so they could execute a live ball appeal that the runner had left the base prior to the caught fly ball being touch.

It's not a force play. It's not a tag play. What is it if it's not an appeal?

Elaine "Lady Blue" Sat Aug 02, 2003 09:46am

It's both! It's both a candy mint AND a breath mint, it's 2, 2, 2 mints in one! LOL


Skahtboi Sat Aug 02, 2003 10:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by SC Ump
Quote:

Originally posted by bluezebra

No appeal necessary in this situation. This is not a missed base. Runner off base. Ball caught. Throw beats runner back to base. OUT!

Bob

But why did the defense throw the ball back to the base? I was thinking it was so they could execute a live ball appeal that the runner had left the base prior to the caught fly ball being touch.

It's not a force play. It's not a tag play. What is it if it's not an appeal?

It is a live ball appeal of the runner leaving before the catch, or the first touch leading to the catch to be exact. Tom was absolutely right in his description. That was why when the ball was thrown back to the base, (the actual "appeal" by the team), the ump called out. Otherwise, there would have had to been a tag or something since the force had been removed by the catch. However, since this is such a common appeal, all too often many forget that it is in fact an appeal and not part of the play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1