The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 01, 2013, 01:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,210
Quote:
Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA View Post
Not unless the umpire judges R1's act to be intentional.

ASA 8.7.J.4
I checked on your cite and was going to slightly disagree with you probably based on us reading the play a little differently. It seems to me that once the F6 gloved the ball 8.7.4.J no longer applies. She's not fielding it after she controls it.
But other than crashing into the fielder, I can't find the rule that actually makes it illegal to interfere with a player attempting to complete a force or tag a runner. So it seems you could have 8.7.Q here, but that seems wrong since the runner didn't really have time to avoid the crash. If a runner were to grab the arm of the fielder to prevent a tag, would we really lack a rule to call the runner out?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1