The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA 8-2-M-8 question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95413-asa-8-2-m-8-question.html)

chuck chopper Sun Jun 30, 2013 09:45pm

ASA 8-2-M-8 question
 
As runner heads back to 1st base, is F3 allowed to use the orange ? on the pick off attempt. If it matters...throw is coming from F4

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 30, 2013 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuck chopper (Post 898978)
As runner heads back to 1st base, is F3 allowed to use the orange ? on the pick off attempt. If it matters...throw is coming from F4

A runner may always use any part of the double base.

A batter-runner must always used the colored portion unless special circumstances covered in the rules allows both teams to use either portion of the base.

grounder Mon Jul 01, 2013 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuck chopper (Post 898978)
As runner heads back to 1st base, is F3 allowed to use the orange ? on the pick off attempt. If it matters...throw is coming from F4

yes

chuck chopper Mon Jul 01, 2013 08:24am

My question was is F3 allowed to use the orange

HugoTafurst Mon Jul 01, 2013 08:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuck chopper (Post 899007)
My question was is F3 allowed to use the orange

What do you mean "use the orange part of the base".
You said a pick off play - that's a tag (the runner) play.
If you are refering to R1 returning to the base on a caught fly ball,
BR has passed the base, there is no orange or white (for all practical purposes), it is all one base.

MD Longhorn Mon Jul 01, 2013 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuck chopper (Post 899007)
My question was is F3 allowed to use the orange

Yes.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Jul 01, 2013 09:01am

A pickoff play from F4?? Doesn't make sense.

A live ball appeal on a caught batted ball?

Pickoffs can only originate w/ F2 following a pitch, yes?

CecilOne Mon Jul 01, 2013 09:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 898980)
A runner may always use any part of the double base.

A batter-runner must always used the colored portion unless special circumstances covered in the rules allows both teams to use either portion of the base.

If there is a play being made.

CecilOne Mon Jul 01, 2013 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 899017)
A pickoff play from F4?? Doesn't make sense.

A live ball appeal on a caught batted ball?

Pickoffs can only originate w/ F2 following a pitch, yes?

Although the OP might be a fly ball appeal,

a "pickoff" can come from anyone, possible relay from F2 to F1 or to F4.

Tru_in_Blu Mon Jul 01, 2013 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 899019)
Although the OP might be a fly ball appeal,

a "pickoff" can come from anyone, possible relay from F2 to F1 or to F4.

Good point. See this a lot when runners on 1st & 3rd and defense is defending the double-steal/rundown situation.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jul 01, 2013 12:09pm

None of it is relevant. If you are referring to a runner the answer is "yes" no matter what the play or from where the ball comes, the answer is yes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1