The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Courtesy Runner In Game ? (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95282-courtesy-runner-game.html)

Chess Ref Sun Jun 16, 2013 08:44am

Courtesy Runner In Game ?
 
Had this come up and partner was pretty adamant we should get an out and a DQ.

F1 gets a single. Coach tells me he's got a courtesy runner for the pitcher. I pull out the line up card and see he has no eligible players.

During the time I'm pulling out the line up card and checking , his player off the bench and F1 switch places.

At this time I tell him that's not allowed. I explain rule to him. He pulls player off the base and sends F1 back out to 1B.

My partner, BU, then comes down the line and is pretty insistent we have an ineligible CR and need to get an out on that.

I hold steady in my thinking and we move on.

So my question is when is a CR and or sub "officially in the game"?

I always handled it as when I write it down and announce it.

Rule 4-6-B states "considered officially in the game when reported to the plate umpire".

What say you ?

CecilOne Sun Jun 16, 2013 09:33am

Yeppers ;)

No lineup card change or announcement, PU still with coach, no pitch thrown. :cool:

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 16, 2013 08:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 897568)
Had this come up and partner was pretty adamant we should get an out and a DQ.

F1 gets a single. Coach tells me he's got a courtesy runner for the pitcher. I pull out the line up card and see he has no eligible players.

During the time I'm pulling out the line up card and checking , his player off the bench and F1 switch places.

At this time I tell him that's not allowed. I explain rule to him. He pulls player off the base and sends F1 back out to 1B.

My partner, BU, then comes down the line and is pretty insistent we have an ineligible CR and need to get an out on that.

I hold steady in my thinking and we move on.

So my question is when is a CR and or sub "officially in the game"?

I always handled it as when I write it down and announce it.

Rule 4-6-B states "considered officially in the game when reported to the plate umpire".

What say you ?

Good call. How can you have an ineligible CR when you didn't allow the CR to begin?

MD Longhorn Mon Jun 17, 2013 08:42am

Your partner's an OOO ... and wrong.

Rich Mon Jun 17, 2013 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 897635)
Your partner's an OOO ... and wrong.

And he should stay out of it, to boot.

CecilOne Mon Jun 17, 2013 09:33am

WOW, three people finishing what I was too lazy to type! :cool: :)

Chess Ref Tue Jun 18, 2013 10:43am

Lol
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 897635)
Your partner's an OOO ... and wrong.

Yes he was and is on a regular basis.

chapmaja Tue Jun 18, 2013 12:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Chess Ref (Post 897568)
Had this come up and partner was pretty adamant we should get an out and a DQ.

F1 gets a single. Coach tells me he's got a courtesy runner for the pitcher. I pull out the line up card and see he has no eligible players.

During the time I'm pulling out the line up card and checking , his player off the bench and F1 switch places.

At this time I tell him that's not allowed. I explain rule to him. He pulls player off the base and sends F1 back out to 1B.

My partner, BU, then comes down the line and is pretty insistent we have an ineligible CR and need to get an out on that.

I hold steady in my thinking and we move on.

So my question is when is a CR and or sub "officially in the game"?

I always handled it as when I write it down and announce it.

Rule 4-6-B states "considered officially in the game when reported to the plate umpire".

What say you ?

My opinion, when you denied the CR into the game, there is no CR. Since there is no CR there can not be an ineligible CR.

I can see the argument though from the defensive coach that he reported the CR to the umpire and the ineligible CR took a position on the base, so at that point it had been reported, and the ineligible CR took a place on the base so in fact there was an ineligible CR. I wouldn't allow that since I never accepted the CR, but I can see the argument. I don't see the argument from the BU because it is none of his darn business in the first place.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1