![]() |
NSA Dropped Third Strike
I have never umpired using NSA rules before and cannot seem to find specific information about when a batter is out after a dropped third strike when she does not immediately attempt to run to first base...as soon as she enters DBT, or at some other point?
I know what the answer would be in ASA or NFHS, but have been told it is different in NSA. |
Look in the rule for "batter-runner is out" or "runner is out" for their rule on abandonment. This is not a special thing that applies only to D3K. The ruling would be the same regardless of why the batter became a BR with a live ball.
|
Poorly written, the rule actually fails to cover the D3K rule. Instead of including every instance of batter becoming a batter-runner, some genius wrote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Rita |
The only rule set that I'm aware of that has a different criterion on when the batter fails to run out an uncaught third strike is straight OBR (pro baseball). There, the batter is called out when he clearly shows no effort to run to first and leaves the dirt circle around home plate before being tagged.
Otherwise, all of the other rule sets I'm familiar with makes DBT the point of no return. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44pm. |