![]() |
|
|
|||
I realize the emphasis of supplement 39, but the trailing runner touched the plate before the lead runner. If the defense appeals that this is the case, what is going to be your call as to whether R2 passed R1 or not? if you say that R2 did not pass R1 because she did not pass R1 with her entire body, how do you explain that she touched the plate first with passing.
|
|
|||
And if you call her out for passing, how do you explain to the offensive coach when he argues the rules state the lead runner must be physically passed and the rules supplement is clear in its statement the runner must completely pass the body of the lead runner?
I have no idea what the rules clarification may be on this from the rules committe, but based on the wording of the rule and rules supplement I do not believe you have rules basis for calling the trailing runner out for passing. |
|
|||
Isn't R1 forced, out if not passed?
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT. It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be. |
|
|||
Cant find anything in the book, but unless you consider the trailing runners touch of home to have removed the force play, I would tend to believe you still have a force situation on the lead runner. 3rd out, game over.
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
Thread Tools | |
Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Trivia 4 | MD Longhorn | Softball | 46 | Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:38pm |
Trivia 3 | MD Longhorn | Softball | 43 | Thu Nov 08, 2012 07:34pm |
A little trivia///// | TimTaylor | Basketball | 0 | Sat Dec 11, 2010 02:15am |
Trivia Time | Ump29 | Baseball | 9 | Tue May 26, 2009 02:05pm |
Trivia to the Final Four | bsilliman | Basketball | 3 | Sun Mar 26, 2000 09:20am |