The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   ASA 7-6-K-2 question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95198-asa-7-6-k-2-question.html)

chuck chopper Sun Jun 02, 2013 09:31pm

ASA 7-6-K-2 question
 
Batter receives ball 4 which was in the dirt in front of HP. B/R drops bat in front of home plate immediately and is running to 1st while F2 mishandles the pitch and the ball bounces off her, out in front of the plate and hits the still moving bat. I assume B/R is out ?

UmpireErnie Sun Jun 02, 2013 09:35pm

Was there an opportunity for F2 to make a play?

chuck chopper Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:01pm

Assume no- but also assume B/R heads for 2nd after reaching 1st. If the answer is sometimes it's a dead ball/out, and sometimes it's a live ball, depending on whether other runners not forced are stealing- I can live with that.

RKBUmp Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:05pm

Wasnt there an ASA rules clarification on this a couple of years back. Basically its treated the same as a batter inadvertanly interfering with a return throw to the pitcher? If there was no play to be made, it is a dead ball, return runners to the last base occupied if there were any runners.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Jun 02, 2013 10:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by chuck chopper (Post 896409)
Batter receives ball 4 which was in the dirt in front of HP. B/R drops bat in front of home plate immediately and is running to 1st while F2 mishandles the pitch and the ball bounces off her, out in front of the plate and hits the still moving bat. I assume B/R is out ?

Rule does not apply in this situation.

8.2.F.5 would be the rule to apply IF the umpire judged the BR discarded the bat in a manner which prevented the defense from making a play on the ball.

Simply dropping the bat would not be a "manner" that would apply in this case.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1