The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Ejection (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/95106-ejection.html)

Tex Wed May 22, 2013 09:14pm

Ejection
 
A player is ejected and no substitutes are available. What do you have?

1) The game is forfeited?
2) Play one player short and take an out?

Please state answer and rule for ASA, USSSA, NFHS, and NCAA.
Thanks

bbsbvb83 Wed May 22, 2013 09:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tex (Post 895156)
A player is ejected and no substitutes are available. What do you have?

1) The game is forfeited?
2) Play one player short and take an out?

Please state answer and rule for ASA, USSSA, NFHS, and NCAA.
Thanks

NFHS...2) Play one player short and take an out.
ASA, USSSA, NCAA... no clue.

Toth Wed May 22, 2013 09:49pm

ASA = Play one player short and take an out as well. Don't know about the others however.

IRISHMAFIA Wed May 22, 2013 10:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tex (Post 895156)
A player is ejected and no substitutes are available. What do you have?

1) The game is forfeited?
2) Play one player short and take an out?

Please state answer and rule for ASA, USSSA, NFHS, and NCAA.
Thanks

ASA - forfeit

ASA Ump MN Wed May 22, 2013 11:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toth (Post 895159)
ASA = Play one player short and take an out as well. Don't know about the others however.

Injury or starting a game shorthanded would be an out but an ejection with no substitute for the ejected player would be a forfeit in ASA.

EsqUmp Thu May 23, 2013 06:26am

ASA - forfeit
NCAA - forfeit (no shorthand rule at all regardless of the reason)

CecilOne Thu May 23, 2013 08:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bbsbvb83 (Post 895158)
NFHS...2) Play one player short and take an out.

I don't know a rule/case cite or is it just because no rule says otherwise.

Reminds me: Are sentences 2 & 3 of 4-3-1-g in the wrong place?

Manny A Thu May 23, 2013 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 895193)
I don't know a rule/case cite or is it just because no rule says otherwise.

Reminds me: Are sentences 2 & 3 of 4-3-1-g in the wrong place?

Yeah, they are kind of immaterial to the rule itself on forfeits. They probably should go under rule 3-3-8.

What I find interesting is that 3-3-8c tells us to refer to 4-3-1g when a short-handed team goes on defense. But 4-3-1g doesn't address it.

CecilOne Thu May 23, 2013 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Manny A (Post 895204)
Yeah, they are kind of immaterial to the rule itself on forfeits. They probably should go under rule 3-3-8.

What I find interesting is that 3-3-8c tells us to refer to 4-3-1g when a short-handed team goes on defense. But 4-3-1g doesn't address it.

Part of no organized coverage of shorthanded in NFHS. :(

MD Longhorn Thu May 23, 2013 10:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toth (Post 895159)
ASA = Play one player short and take an out as well. Don't know about the others however.

Nope.

Toth Thu May 23, 2013 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 895208)
Nope.

Really? Hmm. Where have I been :confused:

MD Longhorn Thu May 23, 2013 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toth (Post 895240)
Really? Hmm. Where have I been :confused:

Not sure if your location is relevant. If an ASA team goes shorthanded due to an ejection, the game is over. Feel free to check rule 4-1-D-2-a


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1