The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 11:41am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by chapmaja View Post
What I have found regarding the calling her out is this.

7-4-1 Batter is out A team playing with one less than the starting number in the batting order and her turn to bat is reached.

Nowhere does the rule specify why she isn't playing, only that they are playing with 1 less than the starting number in the batting order).
Did coach tell you he was removing her from the game? No. She was obviously trying to address the issue of jewelry.

Like in the other thread - YOU do not decide when a player is in or out of the game (except, of course, an ejection). When she could not come to bat because she was not properly equipped, you rule a penalty strike. 3 of those and THEN she's out, but she's not removed from the game.

Then you don't have the problem of letting her back into the game - she was never out of the game.
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 12:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: East Central, FL
Posts: 1,042
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Did coach tell you he was removing her from the game? No. She was obviously trying to address the issue of jewelry.

Like in the other thread - YOU do not decide when a player is in or out of the game (except, of course, an ejection). When she could not come to bat because she was not properly equipped, you rule a penalty strike. 3 of those and THEN she's out, but she's not removed from the game.

Then you don't have the problem of letting her back into the game - she was never out of the game.

Wait a minute, as I read the OP, F5 did not play her defensive position. Then when her team was on offense, she didn't bat.
How can you say she is still in the game?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 12:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Katy, Texas
Posts: 8,033
Quote:
Originally Posted by HugoTafurst View Post
Wait a minute, as I read the OP, F5 did not play her defensive position. Then when her team was on offense, she didn't bat.
How can you say she is still in the game?
When was she officially removed from the game?
__________________
I was thinking of the immortal words of Socrates, who said, 'I drank what?'”

West Houston Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri May 17, 2013, 06:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by MD Longhorn View Post
Did coach tell you he was removing her from the game? No. She was obviously trying to address the issue of jewelry.

Like in the other thread - YOU do not decide when a player is in or out of the game (except, of course, an ejection). When she could not come to bat because she was not properly equipped, you rule a penalty strike. 3 of those and THEN she's out, but she's not removed from the game.

Then you don't have the problem of letting her back into the game - she was never out of the game.
So when she is on defense, as was the case when she was noticed on DEFENSE with the jewelry on, I should have allowed her to stay in the game correct? A player not legally equipment CAN NOT remain in the game. That is pretty clear.

I gave her plenty of time to attempt to remove the illegal item and when she was unable to do so, I informed the coach we were going to play ball. Which in this case means the player is removed from the game. That is very clear. What is not clear is allowing the player to return to the game.

I can not find anything in the rules that DOES NOT allow her to return to the game when she has been forced to leave the game for some reason.

To me this is no different than if she had been forced to leave the game, was replaced by a substitute, then was re-entered under the re-entry rule. I have found NOTHING in the rules that says once a player leaves the game and the team is forced to play shorthanded, the team must remain shorthanded.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NF rule change brings up another issue Mark Padgett Basketball 10 Thu May 19, 2011 10:21am
Jewelry rule causes yelling Mark Padgett Basketball 92 Fri Dec 18, 2009 07:57am
Jewelry?? buddha69 Softball 11 Sat Apr 16, 2005 08:50am
NCAA Jewelry Rule? alabamabluezebra Softball 9 Thu Apr 08, 2004 01:39pm
Please help, my issue with the tuck rule rking Football 7 Wed Feb 04, 2004 05:58pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1