The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu May 16, 2013, 06:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: NY
Posts: 763
NCAA: 12.21.2 When a base runner is legally off her base after a pitch or as a result of a batter completing her turn at bat and she is in motion as the pitcher takes
possession
of the ball within the pitcher’s circle, the base runner may continue
moving forward in the direction she is going without stopping; or she may
immediately and directly go back in the other direction.

Only the NCAA prohibits the runner in motion from stopping and then continuing the same direction. All other codes allow the runner in motion to stop and then decide immediately to continue or retreat.

In your cases, both plays were legal.
__________________
Kill the Clones. Let God sort them out.
No one likes an OOJ (Over-officious jerk).
Realistic officiating does the sport good.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Look Back Rule Daryl H. Long Softball 7 Sun Nov 27, 2011 06:08pm
Look back rule question jmkupka Softball 17 Wed Apr 02, 2008 11:46am
Look Back Rule TERRY1 Softball 17 Tue Jun 08, 2004 08:26am
Look back rule DownTownTonyBrown Softball 6 Thu May 15, 2003 10:03am
New look back rule (ASA) Dakota Softball 6 Fri Dec 07, 2001 12:00am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1