The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Softball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Apr 27, 2013, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Woodstock, GA; Atlanta area
Posts: 2,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manny A View Post
Rita, by rule, the pitcher's wrist must be between the body and the elbow when he/she delivers the pitch. If the wrist is outside of (farther from the body) the elbow, it is not legal.
Key word most often misapplied: WRIST!! It doesn't say the hand or the ball must be inside the elbow, just the wrist. So the forearm must be straight down, or even pointing back into the body.

But many people look at the ball being outside the wrist (and thus the elbow)to argue a pitch is illegal. If that were the rule, no one could throw a legal curveball or drop.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sidearm delivery in ASA FP bellnier Softball 6 Tue May 03, 2005 10:56pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1