![]() |
Appeal play question (ASA)
Hello, I have a question about appeal plays using the ASA rule set.
The Rules Supplement states: "On an appeal play, the force out is determined when the appeal is made, not when the infraction occurs." Can somebody clarify this with an example? Thanks! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
R1 on 3rd, R2 on 1st, one out. B4 singles to right; R1 scores, R2 misses 2nd on the way to 3rd, throw to 3rd cut off and B4 is tagged out attempting to stretch to 2nd. Defense appeals R2 missed 2nd. Ruling; at the time of the infraction, R2 was forced to 2nd, but at the time of the appeal, since the trailing runner has been retired, it is no longer a force out. The 3rd out appeal is therefore a timing play, and the run stands. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20am. |