|  | 
| 
 Approved Mechanic? (ASA) I think this has been discussed before, but want current thinking. ASA - ump-to-ump communications: Signalling two outs by placing the two fingers from right hand somewhere near/at the wrist of the left hand. Someone recently suggested that this was not an approved mechanic. Please advise. | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 The "timing play" signal is not an approved mechanic. So ... don't do it at clinics. Every SINGLE umpire I know (other than rookies, who learn soon enough) uses this signal. | 
| 
 Do you see it listed among all of the approved signals in the umpire manual? | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 I guess it would be, but the question was "Is this an approved ASA signal". | 
| 
 What is ASA's rational for it not being an approved signal? | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 Quote: 
 The "approved" ASA mechanics leave a lot to be desired. For example, when the PU asks for help on a checked swing, the book tells us to say, "Did they go?" "They"? There's only one batter up there, chief. :p | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 Quote: 
 And where did they go to? :p MTD, Sr. | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 Quote: 
 | 
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:40am. |