![]() |
Auburn at Alabama (Illegal Pitches)
Watched the Auburn at Alabama softball game on March 24, on ESPNU.
In the bottom of the 3rd inning, Auburn's relief pitcher, who wore #1, doubled touched on every pitch. Not a single illegal pitch was called from any of the 3 umpires. Do not understand as to why none were called. Does anyone have any information as to when the illegal pitch of double touching became legal? I never received the memo!! |
First off, base umpires aren't responsible for calling illegal pitches involving double-touches. At least I wouldn't do that to my PU partner.
What exactly did she do wrong? |
Quote:
We never see a complete pitch sequence from the plate umpire's point of view. The view from the center field camera appears to show the pitcher taking her position on the pitcher's plate and then the hands apparently coming together with the ball in her glove. Then the hands separate and, with the ball in her glove, she takes a signal from the catcher. She reaches into the glove to get her grip, does her windup and delivery. She didn't always apparently put her hands together immediately after stepping on the pitcher's plate. The side camera shot showed that she would sometimes adjust her glove with her pitching hand on the outside of the glove immediately after taking her position on the pitching plate. |
Watched the replay....saw it the same way Crabby did.
|
Crabby Bob,
Don't understand your reply. "The side camera shot showed that she would sometimes adjust her glove with her pitching hand on the outside of the glove immediately after taking her position on the pitching plate." Now when she started her wind-up, her hands came together again, which made a double touch. This is an illegal pitch. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59pm. |