![]() |
Third World Play in Slowpitch.
strange play
the scenario: runners on second and third, no outs. ground ball is fielded by second baseman, throws to first for the out, then first basemen throws toward home to complete double play BUT the throw hits the bat of the batter/runner going to first carrying his bat, about halfway to first. Whats the proper call? Does anybody have a ruling for this play, or shed any insight on it. |
If it is NCAA, it's going to be interference.....:rolleyes:
ASA rules do not prohibit the batter/runner from carrying their bat with them. This play is governed by the rule regarding interference by a retired offensive player. I don't have the exact reference available right now. If the umpire judges that the retired batter-runner did something to interfere with the throw to home and the defense had a chance to get the out at home, then there is interference by a retired runner, dead ball, runner closest to home is out. The fact that the thrown ball hit the bat makes no difference in judging whether the retired batter-runner interfered with the play. |
Treat this exactly as you would have if the ball hit the batter instead of the bat.
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Thanks for your replies.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:45pm. |