The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Is a failure to tag on a fly ball a force play (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/93851-failure-tag-fly-ball-force-play.html)

TXFPBlue Sun Feb 03, 2013 11:56am

Is a failure to tag on a fly ball a force play
 
And is it treated any differently with different rule sets. I'm specifically wanting clarification on Fed ruleset.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Feb 03, 2013 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TXFPBlue (Post 876661)
And is it treated any differently with different rule sets. I'm specifically wanting clarification on Fed ruleset.

Assuming you are referring to not leaving a base prior to first contact on a caught fly ball, the answer is no in any softball or baseball game.

It is IMPOSSIBLE to have a force out anytime the player who batted the ball is retired prior to the play in question.

AtlUmpSteve Mon Feb 04, 2013 12:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TXFPBlue (Post 876661)
And is it treated any differently with different rule sets. I'm specifically wanting clarification on Fed ruleset.

If you just read the definition of a force play, you would realize it is impossible. In any rule set.

Aside from case plays that continue to dispel the myth.

HugoTafurst Mon Feb 04, 2013 08:35am

Remembering back to when I was first making the transition from "civilian" to umpire, that was one of the first revalations...... That this was NOT a force play.:o

Manny A Mon Feb 04, 2013 01:26pm

No; it's an appeal play.

People who don't know any better assume it's a force play because it looks similar to one, where a runner is put out by tagging the base he/she is attempting to achieve. But the similarity ends there. As others mention, you can never ever have a force if the batter flies out.

MD Longhorn Mon Feb 04, 2013 01:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TXFPBlue (Post 876661)
And is it treated any differently with different rule sets. I'm specifically wanting clarification on Fed ruleset.

I suspect the question you worded is not the question you meant.

Did you mean - "When a player fails to tag on a fly ball, can the defense get that player out by merely touching the bag while in possession of the ball?"

Or did you mean - "Does retiring a player who failed to tag on a fly ball nullify a run previously scored on the play"

The answers to these two questions are not the same (Yes and No respectively)

This is true for all softball and all baseball codes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1