![]() |
NFHS Rules 8-1 Art 2.4.b Help please
(F.P.) a pitched ball not swung at nor called a strike touches any part of the batter's person or clothing. It does not matter if the ball strikes the ground before hitting the batter. The batter's hands are not considered a part of the bat.
I have not done HS Softball for a few years. My memory bank says(sometimes it is reliable) B1 is entitled to first base unless no effort was made to avoid being hit. Can anyone shed some light on this? Thanks, Joe |
Quote:
NFHS Rules 8-1 Art 2.4 b - I don't think you meant to have the "4" there, it relates to a batted ball striking an umpire. SECTION 1 THE BATTER BECOMES A BATTER-RUNNER ART. 2 . . . A batter is awarded first base when: a. a fair batted ball strikes the person, attached equipment, or clothing of an umpire or a runner. b. (F.P.) a pitched ball not swung at nor called a strike touches any part of the batter's person or clothing. It does not matter if the ball strikes the ground before hitting the batter. The batter's hands are not to be considered a part of the bat. PENALTIES: (Art. 2). 1. The ball is dead. The batter is entitled to one base without liability to be put out. If no attempt is made to avoid being hit or there is an obvious attempt to get hit by the pitch, the batter will not be awarded first base unless it is ball four. 2. If the batter is hit anywhere on the body, including on the hands, while swinging at a pitch and hits the ball fair or foul, the ball is dead and a strike called. If it is strike three, the batter is out. |
Ahhh, it went 1, 2, 3, 4 under the lower case a.
Then lowercase b is where we are. Thanks. OK, it reads the same in the 2012 book. Kinda weird it is in the penalty section, isn't it? Thanks for helping me find it. Joe |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56am. |