![]() |
Another Illegal pitch
18u tournament yesterday, I'm going to do my best to describe the actions of this pitcher to get your opinions.
Left handed pitcher, steps onto the pitchers plate legally, pauses, she begins by holding her right hand straight up in the air over her head with the ball in her left hand hanging down by her side. She swings her left hand with the ball in it up, touches it to her glove that is still over her head, and completes her windmill motion to deliver the ball to the batter. What do you think? |
Quote:
|
Any clinic I have ever been in they have said the hands merely need to touch together, based on that I would say legal.
Per the letter of the rule, where the hands brought together for a minimum of 1 second? |
Quote:
slow enough that it really takes a full second! (I belief in ISF-rules it must be 2 seconds.) |
Quote:
I know that the interpretation has been very lenient on the "one second" piece and as long as the hands came together, it was OK. I also realize that it can be difficult to visualize this without seeing it, but her hands coming together was literally a brush of the ball against her glove with no discernable stop in her arm motion. RKB - next time I see you, remind me to demonstrate. |
Quote:
|
Illegal pitch. She is starting her pitching motion prior to separating her hands.
Paul |
Quote:
|
Based on 2003 case book, illegal pitch. Ball in both hands for 1 second.
|
Quote:
I do wish it would be called that way, but it is not. That is why I also wish ASA would move to the 2-second pause as in ISF. If you were responding to my request for citation, I specifically asked for citation concerning the pitcher "starting" her pitching motion prior to separating of the hands. |
Quote:
:eek::rolleyes::eek: |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
EFFECT - Sections 1-5, 7,8: A. Any infraction of Sections 1-5, 7, 8 is an illegal pitch. Paul |
xtreamump
The OP said that a left handed pitcher has her right hand straight up and during the pitch she just touches the glove over her head when she is in full windmill ?? It is very hard to "Believe" or "Pitcher" but it does sound like an advantage is being gained by the F1.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
Let me go back and see if I can get back in the groove (Embarrassed) |
Quote:
This would cover the OP assuming you consider the act of bringing the hands together part of the pitching motion. However, the comment I'm questioning is starting a pitching motion before the hands are separated. And again, even if there were something in ASA, now you would need to define a "pitching motion" 'cause there are probably as many of those as there are umpires. |
Quote:
Definitionally in ASA, nothing before the hands separating is part of the pitch, so if it was illegal in ASA, it would have to be illegal preliminaries, not illegal pitching motion per se. re: the OP, the pitcher is not violating any of the preliminaries with the possible exception of the 1 sec touch, and by interpretation, ASA allows touch and go, so nothing there, either. NFHS, OTOH, allows the umpire to determine the start of the windup as the start of the pitch, which can occur before the hands separate, but not before the hands come together. So, again, the OP pitcher is not violating any NFHS rule, either (apart from the technical 1 sec violation). |
So prior to the hands coming together any motion resembling a pitch is legal?
Situation: Runner(s) on base outs don't matter. After getting her signals the pitcher strides forward, drags her pivot foot and windmills but does not throw the ball. She remains inside the circle and never brought her hands together. Runner(s) seeing what they believe is a pitch leave their base(s). Runner out for being off base with F1 having the ball in the circle or illegal pitch? If illegal pitch which rule did she violate ASA or FED? Paul |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
Play above, this is an IP based on the effect of violating the preliminary requirements to the pitch, 6.1.E. Wasn't there just a recent discussion on an IP & LBR violations on same act? Would not the IP negate the effect of the LBR violation? Tom's citation is useful, but the word "immediately" can throw a wrench into that discussion. ;) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Once the pitcher separates, if she uses a windmill delivery, she has already moved her pitching arm and the ball toward the plate. By bringing it around a second time, she has actually delayed the release of the ball, hence did not deliver it "immediately" :rolleyes: As absurd as it sounds, think of some of the other "absurd" arguments you have heard about certain rules or interpretations over your years as umpiring AND umpires who have bought into them :eek: This is why we get the big bucks to get the proper interpretations and pass them along. Disclaimer to all: This is a discussion about the rules, printed and interpretation. Just because we (and I say "we" because I am not the only one involved here) raise an issue or opinion in a conversation does not mean that any of us necessarily buy into them suggest they are examples of fact to be applied in the game. |
Quote:
And, you're right, I have heard a lot of absurd arguments made about the rules (some on this very board, and some very recently! :D). |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:44am. |