The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   baserunning and pitcher/fielder question (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/91771-baserunning-pitcher-fielder-question.html)

splitveer Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:21pm

baserunning and pitcher/fielder question
 
First of all forgive my lack of verbage when trying to describe this situation.

We have a runner on first base because they hit a single to the outfield. The first baseman goes to the circle to take the throw from the outfield while the pitcher is standing near second base. The first baseman has the ball in the circle with the ball and hand in the glove.

Does a fielder have the same provisions as the pitcher when it comes to the runner committing to one base or the next? So when the first baseman has the ball in the glove in the circle the runner must commit to one base or the next...

Or can the runner play with the first baseman because they are a fielder and not a pitcher.

Thanks for the help from this first year 12U softball coach. Oh, by the way I am looking at ASA and USSSA rules applications.

THANKS!

HugoTafurst Sat Jun 16, 2012 03:36am

The ball must be in posessoon of the pitcher, who must be in the circle,
for the Look Back rule to be in effect.

Gulf Coast Blue Sat Jun 16, 2012 03:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by splitveer (Post 846285)
First of all forgive my lack of verbage when trying to describe this situation.

We have a runner on first base because they hit a single to the outfield. The first baseman goes to the circle to take the throw from the outfield while the pitcher is standing near second base. The first baseman has the ball in the circle with the ball and hand in the glove.

Does a fielder have the same provisions as the pitcher when it comes to the runner committing to one base or the next? So when the first baseman has the ball in the glove in the circle the runner must commit to one base or the next...

Or can the runner play with the first baseman because they are a fielder and not a pitcher.

Thanks for the help from this first year 12U softball coach. Oh, by the way I am looking at ASA and USSSA rules applications.

THANKS!

No....F3 is not the pitcher.

Joel

CecilOne Mon Jun 18, 2012 09:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by HugoTafurst (Post 846309)
The ball must be in posessoon of the pitcher, who must be in the circle,
for the Look Back rule to be in effect.

The ball must be in
posession of the pitcher, who must be
in the circle,
for the Look Back rule to be in effect

RKBUmp Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 846498)
The ball must be in
posession of the pitcher, who must be
in the circle,
for the Look Back rule to be in effect

ASA also specifies "control". In most other rule sets the pitcher only needs posession of the ball in the circle. In ASA pitcher must also have control. Ball must be in hand or glove, it cannot be under arm, between legs etc while she adjusts pony tail etc.

tcannizzo Mon Jun 18, 2012 04:54pm

Well for the benefit of the OP, add to that she is not in the process of making a play.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1