![]() |
Is it interferance when a runner from third (racing home)raises his hands to put behind his head for protection, DOES NOT touch the ball or obstruct the ability of the catcher to recieve the ball? Ball ended up hitting the player in the back, not the head. Other team said you can't raise your hands at all.
Glen G |
If by doing so the runner interfered with the fielder's opportunity to field the ball, then it's interference. Simply raising the hands does not make automatic interference.
|
I had a similar situtation this weekend in an 18U AFA
Qualififer. Runner on 2B racing towards F6 clapping her hands and shouting at the same time. F6 booted the ball, and I immediately called visual and verbal INT. Offensive coach went crazy. Worse yet, runner's Mother calls me over to fence at the end of the inning wanting to know why her DD could not do what she did. Briefly explained rule to her and she said her DD had always done this in ASA and USSSA. I made no other comments. glen |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55am. |