The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   2 Q's for your opinion (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/9132-2-qs-your-opinion.html)

MACMAN Thu Jun 26, 2003 11:54pm

Situation #1: SP, F1 plants left foot on outside of 3b edge of the plate. F1 right foot is 2-3 ft to the right of that and now the pitch is made. Ball crosses over the home plate between B1 shoulder and knee. Ball lands on ground behind home plate and 3-4 inches outside of line.... What's your call?

Situation #2: SP, R1 on 1B, B2 hits ball to F5. F4 plants left foot on ground next to 2B to block R1. F5 throws to F4, R1 slide into F4 foot as F5 throw arrives.... What's your call?

Thanks for your advise in advance!

gohogs Fri Jun 27, 2003 07:32am

Q1 strike
Q2 out

JustaFan2 Fri Jun 27, 2003 09:02am

#1 = Illegal pitch
#2 = Out

WillyS Fri Jun 27, 2003 09:25am

Q1 - Strike

Q2 - Sounds like a YHTBT play. Since it's a force, why is F4 trying to block the bag? Is either one of F4's feet in contact with the bag? Really not enough info to make this call. Obstruction is possible on this play too.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jun 27, 2003 09:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by MACMAN
Situation #1: SP, F1 plants left foot on outside of 3b edge of the plate. F1 right foot is 2-3 ft to the right of that and now the pitch is made. Ball crosses over the home plate between B1 shoulder and knee. Ball lands on ground behind home plate and 3-4 inches outside of line.... What's your call?
Speaking ASA

No pitch. Part of the batter's foot is outside of the box prior to the pitch. Not permitted. As the umpire, the pitcher should have been held until the batter properly set inside the batter's box. If batter doesn't move prior to that quick 10-count, strike.

Quote:

Situation #2: SP, R1 on 1B, B2 hits ball to F5. F4 plants left foot on ground next to 2B to block R1. F5 throws to F4, R1 slide into F4 foot as F5 throw arrives.... What's your call?
Depends on whether R1 contacted F5's foot prior to F5 making contact with the ball or not. If it did, obstruction. If not or too close to determine, out.


gohogs Fri Jun 27, 2003 12:17pm

Mike I believe he was talking about the pitchers feet and justafan2 only one foot has to be in contact with the pitchers plate.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jun 27, 2003 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gohogs
Mike I believe he was talking about the pitchers feet and justafan2 only one foot has to be in contact with the pitchers plate.
Do'h! I guess I just took the pitcher's feet as irrelevent because....it is!

But, then again, what "line" is he talking about?

MACMAN Fri Jun 27, 2003 02:00pm

more info...
 
Sorry that I was not very clear.

If you were to look at home plate directly from the pitcher's mound, The line that I spoke of is an imaginary line behind the plate on each side.

Also, the pitcher's left foot is in contact with the pitcher's plate.

I guess that I am thinking, just because the ball does not land directly behind the plate, it can still be a strike.

Hope this helps.

JEL Fri Jun 27, 2003 10:26pm

A foot completely off the rubber? no-no in FP

CecilOne Sat Jun 28, 2003 08:19am

He said SP. Where the ball lands does not matter. The question is about a pitch that crosses the plate but because of the angle from where the pitch was thrown, it lands off to the side of where strikes usually land. The only thing that matters is whether the PU thinks it crossed the plate on its way to wherever.
Then the batter will use the bat to make a mark in the dirt, either the "line" referenced above or an "X" or "O" where the ball landed. Tell the batter we are not playing tic-tac-toe and wait for the next pitch.

My question is about "as F5 throw arrives". If the ball arrives first, an out. If the runner arrives first, obstruction.

About "Since it's a force, why is F4 trying to block the bag?". He said F4, not Einstein.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1