![]() |
|
|
|||
GT v FSU
R1 on 1B.
Ground ball to F4. U3 signals Out on Tag. OC appeals. Crew gets together and call is reversed. R1 safe on 2B. I can see if U3 ruled Safe and missed the tag, but un-tag?
__________________
Tony |
|
|||
I did not see the play but I am thinking if U1 was watching the play, he or she might have had a better angle. I am thinking the U3 was straightlined or had a bad angle. Of course U3 must have had doubts as if I was 100% sure I would have a hard time getting together for a conference. Having said that, my perception, from a limited sample, is that in college tha e umpires get together any time a coach disagrees with a call and comes out.
Last edited by ronald; Sat May 12, 2012 at 02:16pm. |
|
|||
Quote:
I believe what was meant by the post is that U3 shouldn't be guessing the out not actually seen; default to the "safe", and have THAT call potentially appealed and overturned. So far as NCAA manual is concerned, the umpires should only get together when the calling umpire agrees that the other umpire may have additional information to add. In general, assuming a smaller and higher level of training than any other group, that should actually happen less. But, we don't actually work for the NCAA until postseason; this is a conference coordinator issue when umpires feel more required than the manual suggests. That said; my belief is this call should have been "safe, no tag" to begin with. Good reversal by the crew, but never should have been necessary.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
Not this year.
At least primarily my fault this time; I neglected to take the test on time. So much going on, I simply forgot.
__________________
Steve ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF |
|
|||
another excellent post...other than drinking bad beer, you usually nail it..
|
|
|||
Quote:
|
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|