![]() |
Interference Question
R1 slides home as ball arrives and hits her leg thus rolling out in front of home plate. R1 then stands up and is on home plate when she decides to pick up the bat. Catcher cannot get to the ball and R2 now comes sliding in and of course is safe. Is R1 out and R2 goes back to 3rd with the run being taken off the board OR Is R1 out, RUN COUNTS, and R2 goes back to 3rd. OR is R1 safe, run counts and R2 is called out?
. I do ASA just for Ref: |
If interference on R1 is the call, R2 is out and the run counts.
|
and I assume if there was only R1 who interfered after scoring, she is out and run scores
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
H.T.B.T.!
However, question to make it clear: If R1 would have left the bat where it was and just got up after the slide home, was F2 then able to get to the ball? If you have a YES, then it's an INT. R1 is out and i.m.h.o. the run nullified. R2 can't score either, 'cause after an INT play is dead (ISF 9.1f). If you got a NO , then you ain't got nothing: Runs score. In my mind you must be very strong and be more than sure to call an INT on a runner who just scored! You will have heII breaking lose on that call, for sure. |
Quote:
ISF 8-9-o states that when a runner who scored interferes, the runner closest to home is out. There is no negating the run, because she, well, scored! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
That is what prevents any further action should the umpire determine the player who scored did interfere with the C. And, as you noted, 8.9o would be the applicable ISF rule to declare the runner closest to home at the time of the INT, R2, out. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10pm. |