The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   here's a strange one (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/90424-heres-strange-one.html)

SWFLguy Wed Apr 04, 2012 09:21pm

here's a strange one
 
Watching the Georgia/Tennessee college game tonight and saw this. Bases loaded for Tenn. and batter hits single that moves all runners. Runner on 3rd may have missed home plate (I did not see if she did but let's assume she did not), but the runner from 2nd did touch it. Runner from 3rd then quickly returns to touch home (thinking she did not touch it). If she had truly missed touching the plate, what could we have called, if anything? Could the runner from 2nd be called out for passing a preceding runner? What say you all?

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 04, 2012 09:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWFLguy (Post 835807)
Watching the Georgia/Tennessee college game tonight and saw this. Bases loaded for Tenn. and batter hits single that moves all runners. Runner on 3rd may have missed home plate (I did not see if she did but let's assume she did not), but the runner from 2nd did touch it. Runner from 3rd then quickly returns to touch home (thinking she did not touch it). If she had truly missed touching the plate, what could we have called, if anything? Could the runner from 2nd be called out for passing a preceding runner? What say you all?

Pretty sure it is true in all rule sets that once a trailing runner has scored, a runner may not return to touch the missed base.

NCAA Rule
7.1.4 A base runner may not return to touch a missed base or one left before a fly ball was first touched when:
7.1.4.1 She has left the field of play.
7.1.4.2 A following base runner has scored.
7.1.4.3 She is standing on a base beyond the base she missed or left before a fly ball was first touched, and “Time” has been called by the umpire.
7.1.4.4 The ball becomes dead.
Exception:
If the base runner is between any two bases and attempting to return to the base missed or left before a fly ball was first touched, she can continue.


That doesn't mean you stop them, you just don't recognize that touch if the defense appeals the missed base.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 04, 2012 09:58pm

Have you noticed how the UT catcher keeps leaning away and reaching back for the ball?

Sometimes it is high, but not always.

IRISHMAFIA Wed Apr 04, 2012 10:03pm

PU keeps getting crap from the fans on check swings, but is seems half the time, he is going to the wrong (correct for NCAA, just not the rest of the world) BU for help.

And now he just called a batter out on what may appear to be a foul tip off the glove, but trapped and held by the catcher.

Dakota Wed Apr 04, 2012 11:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWFLguy (Post 835807)
...If she had truly missed touching the plate, what could we have called, if anything? ...

Nothing, unless it is appealed.

RadioBlue Thu Apr 05, 2012 09:39am

A runner must physically pass a non-obstructed preceding runner to be called out for the violation. As correctly pointed out, once a succeeding runner has scored a runner may not return to touch as missed base. If the defense properly appeals and the preceding runner did, indeed, miss the plate, they would be ruled out.

AtlUmpSteve Thu Apr 05, 2012 10:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SWFLguy (Post 835807)
If she had truly missed touching the plate, what could we have called, if anything? Could the runner from 2nd be called out for passing a preceding runner? What say you all?

I say that would be one of the worst rule misapplications I have ever seen or heard of. A missed base is simply that; passing a runner requires physically and actually PASSING a runner.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1