The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Softball (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/)
-   -   Mechanics review (https://forum.officiating.com/softball/90408-mechanics-review.html)

CecilOne Wed Apr 04, 2012 10:17am

Mechanics review
 
Just to refine and clarify mechanics as written, not to debate the merits of any instruction or one book versus the other.
Main interest NFHS/ASA, but add NCAA if you like.

Are these really taboos?
- calling OBS at a base by the PU
- calling OBS at HP by the BU

- BU calling infield fly
- BU signaling but not calling infield fly

- PU making a call at 3rd from slightly in foul ground
- Same, runner returning after rounding

Multiple runners, lead runner to 3rd, no play at home:
- second play; PU or not
- first play after possible play at 1st not made; PU or not

MD Longhorn Wed Apr 04, 2012 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 835706)
Just to refine and clarify mechanics as written, not to debate the merits of any instruction or one book versus the other.

Are you just asking us to vote our opinions?

ASA:
Are these really taboos?
- calling OBS at a base by the PU - NO
- calling OBS at HP by the BU - YES

- BU calling infield fly - YES
- BU signaling but not calling infield fly - NO

- PU making a call at 3rd from slightly in foul ground - Depends on the call in question and the situation
- Same, runner returning after rounding - ditto

Multiple runners, lead runner to 3rd, no play at home:
- second play; PU or not - I pregame this, every game.
- first play after possible play at 1st not made; PU or not - First play is BU's (assuming 1st play not at plate)

CecilOne Fri Apr 06, 2012 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 835730)
Are you just asking us to vote our opinions?
Not really, more how the book is interpreted.


ASA:
Are these really taboos?
- PU making a call at 3rd from slightly in foul ground - Depends on the call in question and the situation


Multiple runners, lead runner to 3rd, no play at home:
- second play; PU or not - I pregame this, every game.

Although what I expected, I am surprised at everyone's complete agreement.
Please expand on those above.

CecilOne Fri Apr 06, 2012 07:59am

How do you handle this?
B slot, runner goes to 2nd on passed ball. Do you continue to C immediately or stay at 2nd and actually wait for ball back to pitcher?

MD Longhorn Fri Apr 06, 2012 08:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 836035)
Although what I expected, I am surprised at everyone's complete agreement.
Please expand on those above.

The first play, I'm not sure what situation you are referring to - PU could be at 3rd for a number of reasons, and could be right on the play, or 50 feet away - so my answer depends on what kind of play you're referring to.

The second one, I ALWAYS include in the pregame that I, as PU, will cover the 2nd play at 3rd if BU is taken to 1st for the 1st play. As BU, I describe the scenario to partner and get his input (sometimes they do it, sometimes they don't like it and expect BU to take both calls). It may not be ASA standard, but it's at least 50/50 here, so I want to make sure I'm on the same page as partner.

MD Longhorn Fri Apr 06, 2012 08:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 836037)
How do you handle this?
B slot, runner goes to 2nd on passed ball. Do you continue to C immediately or stay at 2nd and actually wait for ball back to pitcher?

I know it's not standard, but I'm seeing it more lately --- I rim the infield on this play, getting to the SS side of the bag ahead of the runner (but not all the way to C yet), watching ball, pitcher primarily and watching for the touch of 2nd and/or obstruction by glancing over.

UmpireErnie Sun Apr 08, 2012 07:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 836042)
I know it's not standard, but I'm seeing it more lately --- I rim the infield on this play, getting to the SS side of the bag ahead of the runner (but not all the way to C yet), watching ball, pitcher primarily and watching for the touch of 2nd and/or obstruction by glancing over.

On a PB where there will be no play on the runner coming in to 2B I do this as well. If she continues on to 3B I am ready to follow, and if there is a throw to 2B to try to pick her off rounding too far I am in the correct spot for the possible tag call as she dives back into 2B.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Apr 08, 2012 08:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 836037)
How do you handle this?
B slot, runner goes to 2nd on passed ball. Do you continue to C immediately or stay at 2nd and actually wait for ball back to pitcher?

Stay with the runner by rounding the base. If there is going to be a play there, this will give you the perfect view of the front edge of the base.

DRJ1960 Sun Apr 08, 2012 08:11pm

Inside?
 
Does anyone cut inside behind the runner as she approaches 2nd?

KJUmp Sun Apr 08, 2012 08:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 836403)
Does anyone cut inside behind the runner as she approaches 2nd?

Not on that play.

IRISHMAFIA Sun Apr 08, 2012 08:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 836403)
Does anyone cut inside behind the runner as she approaches 2nd?

And step in front of a possible throw?

HugoTafurst Sun Apr 08, 2012 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by UmpireErnie (Post 836398)
On a PB where there will be no play on the runner coming in to 2B I do this as well. If she continues on to 3B I am ready to follow, and if there is a throw to 2B to try to pick her off rounding too far I am in the correct spot for the possible tag call as she dives back into 2B.

If she continues on to third, isn't that PU's coverage?

DRJ1960 Mon Apr 09, 2012 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by IRISHMAFIA (Post 836407)
And step in front of a possible throw?

OP stipulated no possible throw.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Apr 09, 2012 11:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 836511)
OP stipulated no possible throw.

And the umpire would know that how? Just because there is no immediate play does not mean the catcher will not try to throw behind the runner rounding or that the pitcher will not try to pick-off the runner if she is off the base when the ball is received in the circle.

derwil Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 836403)
Does anyone cut inside behind the runner as she approaches 2nd?

I'll come inside....kind of. I like to come in after the runner passes, then close down to second base on a direct line from 1st. That gives a great angle for a possible pick off on an over run (90º to the tag). Watch the ball go back to P then move to the C position.

Hugo's question:

"If she continues on to third, isn't that PU's coverage?"

Maybe........Situation is single runner on first advancing to second on a PB, then to third. Have got to pre game this every time and watch for your partner. Typically, I take all single runners to third, even on PB situations. Plate umpire may be blocked, especially if the PB goes to the 3rd base side. Plate may be unable to go to third without risking getting into the play. Better to plan on covering from the base side as you don't have anything else going on.

MD Longhorn Mon Apr 09, 2012 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 836511)
OP stipulated no possible throw.

Fair enough, but there's no such play where no throw is "possible".

I've seen clinicians teach that you reach your position you would to make a call on a sliding runner into 2nd, and if it develops to third, you continue on the inside track toward 3rd. I don't like this advice. That's an awful position for a snap return throw if she doesn't end up going for 3rd, I no longer have the ball in my peripheral vision, etc. LOTS of reasons not to do that. Staying outside keeps everything in your vision, keeps you out of the play, gives you optimum positioning for any of the possible developing plays.

(As to PU taking the throw to 3rd, if not pre-gamed, no way, and if I'm BU, that won't be part of it. I have, however, taken this in pre-game as PU, especially with older BU's, or if they've had several games and I have not.)

CecilOne Mon Apr 09, 2012 07:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DRJ1960 (Post 836511)
OP stipulated no possible throw.

B slot, runner goes to 2nd on passed ball. Do you continue to C immediately or stay at 2nd and actually wait for ball back to pitcher?

Where?

AtlUmpSteve Mon Apr 09, 2012 08:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 836587)
B slot, runner goes to 2nd on passed ball. Do you continue to C immediately or stay at 2nd and actually wait for ball back to pitcher?

Where?

Isn't there still a possible play at 2nd until the ball is in the circle? Runners round, or step off, and defenses occasionally throw behind.

Until this play sequence has ended, you have no reason to move to an initial position for the NEXT pitch. Once the ball is in the circle, you have plenty of time to move to your next position.

Where? 90 to the possible tag (back into 2nd from 3rd) inside/out to the location of the ball..

That said, if there is no defensive player in position to make a possible play back into 2nd (they all moved on), no sense standing there pointing like a bird dog, either (unless an NCAA TV or evaluation game).

CecilOne Tue Apr 10, 2012 03:42pm

Thanks to those who posted helpful answers and the rebuttals of non-hepful. :cool:
I think what you said is what i've been doing, by instinct, not thought. :)

CecilOne Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:51pm

How about this? BU in A when batter walks.

Why is there an objection to the BU moving off the line into the infield before the BR gets to 1st? Or, is there really a taught objection (as "honor the runner")?
It seems to me moving off the line is better prep for an advance/attempt to 2nd.

If this is an item, is it an NCAA thing?

MD Longhorn Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 837257)
How about this? BU in A when batter walks.

Why is there an objection to the BU moving off the line into the infield before the BR gets to 1st? Or, is there really a taught objection (as "honor the runner")?
It seems to me moving off the line is better prep for an advance/attempt to 2nd.

If this is an item, is it an NCAA thing?

We have one guy that waits - I asked him why and he didn't know why. Everyone else I know moves toward (but not TO) B as BR is heading to first.

AtlUmpSteve Fri Apr 13, 2012 02:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 837257)
How about this? BU in A when batter walks.

Why is there an objection to the BU moving off the line into the infield before the BR gets to 1st? Or, is there really a taught objection (as "honor the runner")?
It seems to me moving off the line is better prep for an advance/attempt to 2nd.

If this is an item, is it an NCAA thing?

It is an NCAA mechanic based on the three umpires system (the NCAA manual standard). When B walks with no runners on, U1 doesn't have 2nd base responsibility, U3 does (same as base hit when B becomes a BR). And BR can legally and safely overrun 1st, but is in jeopardy if she turns toward 2nd. Where is that next likely play? 90 to the base on the edge facing 2nd, and that is the proper positioning for the next likely play. Only after BR (now R) stops and this play ends should U1 take the position for the next play.

With R1 on 2nd, and U3 in B, U1 should still hold until all play has ended; standard rotaion has PU covering 3rd, U3 holding at 2nd, U1 holding at 1st with possible rotation to cover home.

With R1 on 3rd, U1 DOES have BR to 2nd, and must be prepared for that play. Then, and only then, is U1 to consider moving further off the line to prepare for that possible (1st and 3rd) play.

In the two umpire system, BU always has BR to 2nd; and should react accordingly,same as R1 on 3rd in 3 umpire system. Staying fully on the line in the two umpires system doesn't follow the NCAA guideline to prepare for the next possible play until each play has ended. It can only stem from those confusing 3 umpire mechanics with 2 umpire mechanics.

MD Longhorn Fri Apr 13, 2012 03:33pm

That makes sense ... knowing the guy who does that in our league, he probably either saw it on TV during an NCAA game and decided, "well, that's what they do in college, so that's what I should do", or someone else was describing the mechanic in NCAA and he decided to "big-time" it and adopt the mechanic.

Wouldn't be the first time...

CecilOne Thu Apr 19, 2012 12:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AtlUmpSteve (Post 837307)
It is an NCAA mechanic based on the three umpires system (the NCAA manual standard). When B walks with no runners on, U1 doesn't have 2nd base responsibility, U3 does (same as base hit when B becomes a BR). And BR can legally and safely overrun 1st, but is in jeopardy if she turns toward 2nd. Where is that next likely play? 90 to the base on the edge facing 2nd, and that is the proper positioning for the next likely play. Only after BR (now R) stops and this play ends should U1 take the position for the next play.

With R1 on 2nd, and U3 in B, U1 should still hold until all play has ended; standard rotaion has PU covering 3rd, U3 holding at 2nd, U1 holding at 1st with possible rotation to cover home.

With R1 on 3rd, U1 DOES have BR to 2nd, and must be prepared for that play. Then, and only then, is U1 to consider moving further off the line to prepare for that possible (1st and 3rd) play.

In the two umpire system, BU always has BR to 2nd; and should react accordingly,same as R1 on 3rd in 3 umpire system. Staying fully on the line in the two umpires system doesn't follow the NCAA guideline to prepare for the next possible play until each play has ended. It can only stem from those confusing 3 umpire mechanics with 2 umpire mechanics.

So, the only time U1 should stay at the line for a BB/HBP etc. is in 3 umpire mechanics.

MNBlue Thu Apr 19, 2012 01:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 838076)
So, the only time U1 should stay at the line for a BB/HBP etc. is in 3 umpire mechanics.

The ball is dead on the HBP - no need to stay on the line in 2 umpire mechanics.

argodad Thu Apr 19, 2012 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 838076)
So, the only time U1 should stay at the line for a BB/HBP etc. is in 3 umpire mechanics.

For 2-ump mechanics, on a BB with no runners, we teach BU to move into fair territory about a step or two and observe the BR until she stops at 1B.

shipwreck Thu Apr 19, 2012 05:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by argodad (Post 838101)
For 2-ump mechanics, on a BB with no runners, we teach BU to move into fair territory about a step or two and observe the BR until she stops at 1B.

That's the way I do it. As soon as the runner stops on first, I move to B position. Dave

umpire12 Fri Apr 20, 2012 09:28am

only moving 1 or 2 steps fair leaves you chasing the runner is she doesnt decide to stop and takes off for second base. i think it would be prefered move toward and be close to the B position while keeping your eyes on the runner as she nears first base

MNBlue Fri Apr 20, 2012 10:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by umpire12 (Post 838165)
only moving 1 or 2 steps fair leaves you chasing the runner is she doesnt decide to stop and takes off for second base. i think it would be prefered move toward and be close to the B position while keeping your eyes on the runner as she nears first base

I disagree. It is completely age/player dependant, but in my experience the preponderance of players that walk, will round 1B and return or just stop on 1B. The most likely play will be a throw to F3 in an attempt to pick off the runner that is rounding 1B. A very small minority of players that receive a base on balls will continue to 2B - and those are usually with a runner on 3B.

MD Longhorn Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MNBlue (Post 838172)
I disagree. It is completely age/player dependant, but in my experience the preponderance of players that walk, will round 1B and return or just stop on 1B. The most likely play will be a throw to F3 in an attempt to pick off the runner that is rounding 1B. A very small minority of players that receive a base on balls will continue to 2B - and those are usually with a runner on 3B.

I cannot recall the last time (any age, kids to HS) I've seen a pickoff attempted after a base on balls. That said, moving just 2 steps off the A position leaves you in a great place for that play should it develop, as you've said, but in a problematic place should the play go to 2nd. Moving further (halfway to B, say) decreases your situation for that rare play at first only a very very little bit, while vastly increasing your situation for the possible play at 2nd.

CecilOne Fri Apr 20, 2012 06:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 838200)
(halfway to B, say) .

yyeeeeaaahh! :cool:

umpire12 Fri Apr 20, 2012 07:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 838200)
I cannot recall the last time (any age, kids to HS) I've seen a pickoff attempted after a base on balls. That said, moving just 2 steps off the A position leaves you in a great place for that play should it develop, as you've said, but in a problematic place should the play go to 2nd. Moving further (halfway to B, say) decreases your situation for that rare play at first only a very very little bit, while vastly increasing your situation for the possible play at 2nd.

i agree..it puts you in a reasonable position for either play

CecilOne Mon Apr 23, 2012 04:56pm

is this inconsistent?
 
We are taught to squat straight up and down behind the plate to maintain view and to be easier on our backs. Also, to walk the line, but not bend when at 1st.
But then, we are taught when in B or C on bases with runners to bend down into a "set" position.

Isn't that inconsistent, straight up is better, bending down is better? :confused:
If not, why not?

BTW, has anyone proven that the "set" position actually improves movement or is it just for looking involved?

Tru_in_Blu Fri Jun 01, 2012 06:26am

3-ump mechanics
 
For ASA 3-ump, what are the positions between innings for the umps?

I'll assume PU & 1U are in the same positions as 2-ump mechanics. What about 3U?

I looked in the book last evening, but couldn't locate anything on between inning mechanics/positioning. Is it in there?

Thanx.

IRISHMAFIA Fri Jun 01, 2012 07:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tru_in_Blu (Post 844297)
For ASA 3-ump, what are the positions between innings for the umps?

I'll assume PU & 1U are in the same positions as 2-ump mechanics. What about 3U?

Mirror other BU
Quote:


I looked in the book last evening, but couldn't locate anything on between inning mechanics/positioning. Is it in there?

Thanx.
You mean you didn't get the Supplemental Umpire Manual? ;):D

CecilOne Mon Jun 18, 2012 02:44pm

BU in C in 2 ump system, F3 swipe tags BR, BU blocked.
Is this
- BU makes a call, then asks like pulled foot
- BU communicates to PU to make the call
- it is automatic PU call because BU is in C
?

DaveASA/FED Mon Jun 18, 2012 03:01pm

I guess I have always heard up the the running lane (first 30 feet) a tag is PU's to call, between there and the base is BU's to call. So if after the 30 feet BU should call what they saw, if they saw a tag call the out, if they didn't signal safe. Then after the play if there is a question go to your partner and see what they had if you need to.

IRISHMAFIA Mon Jun 18, 2012 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 846546)
BU in C in 2 ump system, F3 swipe tags BR, BU blocked.
Is this
- BU makes a call, then asks like pulled foot
- BU communicates to PU to make the call
- it is automatic PU call because BU is in C
?

Speaking ASA, you either make the call or give it up. Remember, if you are in the C, the PU very likely has something else to watch especially with 2 outs.

CecilOne Tue Jul 17, 2012 03:25pm

R1 on 1st, ball hit in infield, throw goes to 1st.
- As PU, are you watching for OBS at 2nd?

- As BU, do you move immediately past 2nd w/o waiting for F1 to have ball in circle?

- As BU, if ball at 1st is overthrow, do you immediately get inside?
- As PU, where are you then?

I do these, just wondering if universal and taught.

MD Longhorn Tue Jul 17, 2012 04:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 849345)
R1 on 1st, ball hit in infield, throw goes to 1st.
- As PU, are you watching for OBS at 2nd?

- As BU, do you move immediately past 2nd w/o waiting for F1 to have ball in circle?

- As BU, if ball at 1st is overthrow, do you immediately get inside?
- As PU, where are you then?

I do these, just wondering if universal and taught.

1) Yes, although my eyes are at 1st (pulled foot, swipe tag) briefly at the moment the ball is getting there.
2) I rim, but yes.
3) Depends on where the ball goes - the next throw could be to 2nd or 3rd. Inside could leave you vulnerable, depending on where the ball goes.
4) Depends on what my partner does. Halfway to third on most overthrows at least until my partner has gotten into position for that call, at which point I'm slowly coming back home. Also depends on how far the ball gets away - if I read any chance for the next play being at home, I'm heading home. On tiny overthrows or drops, I'm staying near 3rd (where I was in the first place).

Andy Tue Jul 17, 2012 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 849345)
R1 on 1st, ball hit in infield, throw goes to 1st.
- As PU, are you watching for OBS at 2nd?

I try to watch what is happening at second. Especially on a bunt. We have several teams around here that teach the runner to cut inside second without touching it to try to advance to third if no defender is covering third. I can't tell you how many times I have seen this, but I can tell you how many times I have had to rule on an appeal of the runner missing second base - none.

Quote:

- As BU, do you move immediately past 2nd w/o waiting for F1 to have ball in circle?
No, I wait until the ball is back in the circle and the runners have completed their running.
Quote:


- As BU, if ball at 1st is overthrow, do you immediately get inside?
- As PU, where are you then?
BU - Yes, I try to if I can do it before the runner turns and heads to second.
PU - Cutting diagonally across the infield to cover third base.
Quote:


I do these, just wondering if universal and taught.

IRISHMAFIA Thu Aug 16, 2012 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 851946)
We hardly ever talk about OBS ;) ;) :); so here goes.

A) What is your philosophy and your practice on calling the obstruction when there is no play being made?
for example:
1- poss pickoff sitch, runner returning to 1st blocked by F3, no throw
2- runner at any base blocked from rounding the base when there is no apparent attempt to proceed (assume enough of a block to make the runner stop short or overrun to the side)
3- lead runer sidestepping a non-involved fielder on a deep base hit

All above, if it is obstruction, you call the obstruction. Don't be lazy.

Quote:

B) Poss pickoff sit, F3 or F4 straddling 1st, which are OBS to call:
1 - 2nd base side of base
2 - over the fair/white side
3 - over the foul/color side
4 - feet anywhere with body over the base
Each issue is irrelevant. If the runner is impeded by a player not in possession of the ball, it is obstruction.

HugoTafurst Thu Aug 16, 2012 05:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cecilone (Post 851946)
we hardly ever talk about obs ;) ;) :); so here goes.

(snip)
hugo, i know what i think & do, will post later, checking for disagreement.

:d

Steve M Thu Aug 16, 2012 08:07pm

A - I'll hang the arm out - you may or may not hear the verbal. But call the obstruction every time there is obstruction.

B - If the runner is obstructed, call it - every time.

AtlUmpSteve Thu Aug 16, 2012 11:27pm

At every level, on every case where runner is (even minimally) hindered, put the arm out. I don't verbal, unless there is a play where it has an affect. In rec or other lower level, will discuss with coaches when opportune. I am a believer that umpires often teach the game to players and coaches (just not at a time that gives one team an advantage).

If OC or runner is paying attention, and know what to do; they deserve the protection between bases. If they don't; oh well, I did my job.

MD Longhorn Fri Aug 17, 2012 07:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 851946)
W

A) What is your philosophy and your practice on calling the obstruction when there is no play being made?
for example:
1- poss pickoff sitch, runner returning to 1st blocked by F3, no throw
2- runner at any base blocked from rounding the base when there is no apparent attempt to proceed (assume enough of a block to make the runner stop short or overrun to the side)
3- lead runer sidestepping a non-involved fielder on a deep base hit

1 - call it. Why would you not?
2 - call it. Why would you not?
3 - call it. Why would you not?

Quote:

B) Poss pickoff sit, F3 or F4 straddling 1st, which are OBS to call:
1 - 2nd base side of base
2 - over the fair/white side
3 - over the foul/color side
4 - feet anywhere with body over the base

Huh? I don't know ... what did the runner do?

Andy Fri Aug 17, 2012 10:18am

Gotta agree with the crowd here.....

I would at minimum, signal the obstruction in all of the A) situations

I need to see what happened with the runner in the B) situations

DaveASA/FED Fri Aug 17, 2012 02:43pm

I guess I'm not sure what you are looking for here. The fielders position has ZERO to do with whether I would call OBS or not. Granted their are positions that make OBS more likely, but a fielders position alone will NOT get an OBS call. The runner has to be hindered or impeded to get an obstruction call.

Lets say this runner is leading off at an angle toward right center to have a path to round 2nd base on a deep hit, they may come back to 1B behind that fielder that has both feet on the 2B side of 1B and not be hindered or impeded at all, so no obstruction call. Conversely they may be completely behind the base but R1's chosen path to return to 1B has to be altered to get back to 1B, in this case I have obstruction.

Again, not sure what point you are trying to make (but would like to understand) but position of the fielder alone should never draw an automatic OBS call. And positioning of the fielder should never protect them from having OBS called on them. Bottom line any time a fielder without possession of the ball, and not in the act of fielding a batted ball (ASA) (or making an initial play, in NFHS) hinders or impedes a runner obstruction should be called.

MD Longhorn Fri Aug 17, 2012 03:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 852032)
OK, hopefully to clarify, I assumed saying "which are OBS to call" meant there was a hindrance of the runner with or without a throw to the base and I was asking about which degree(s) of the fielder position is/are violation(s) of the rule.
IOW, I think both feet on the 2nd base side of 1st contacted by the runner is clearly a violation and called.
The above different degrees of base-blocking by the fielder are the questions of whether they matter if there is any hindrance.

Sorry about the cryptic results of my typing aversion, I'll have to keep fighting it.
Hoping for voice input sometime soon.

Still: - I know what I think & do, will post later, checking for disagreement.

Well... honestly, if these are the things you are thinking about, comparing and contrasting, etc, when deciding whether or not to call obstruction, I am not sure you are being correctly told when to call it. No offense intended.

The first set of 3 (the ones you didn't repost) are obstruction every day and twice on Sunday. Call any of those situations every single time. Without thinking about it. Period. Granted - 90% of the time (or more) it will not matter at all that you called it. But for those 10% you better have called it when it happened, and not tried to retroactively call it. Besides, on the occasion that the defense does these things and you call it, the offense is allowed to try to capitalize, if they are paying attention. If you refuse to call it because you believe it's not going to matter, you take away that right.

The second set of 4 - as several have pointed out - the thing you are trying to differentiate is COMPLETELY irrelevant. You can have #1 (which appears to be the most likely to be OBS) not be obstruction at all. You can have #4 (apparently the least likely) and have obstruction. You can have a fielder BEYOND the base, and have it still be obstruction (rare, but possible). Where, in relation to the base, she's standing is NOT what the umpire should be worried about.

I think what bothers me most is this:
Quote:

The above different degrees of base-blocking by the fielder are the questions of whether they matter if there is any hindrance.
This sounds like baseball thinking to me. Don't think base-blocking. Think RUNNER-blocking or hindering.

Regarding this:
Quote:

I assumed saying "which are OBS to call" meant there was a hindrance of the runner
You say right there that there was a hindrance... THAT IS OBSTRUCTION.

IRISHMAFIA Sat Aug 18, 2012 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 852070)
Dave, Mike, et al,

Did you note my comment above?
"Still: - I know what I think & do, will post later, checking for disagreement. "

No base ball in my mind, just trying to describe fielder position w/o using rule terminology.

Yes, I know I propose ambiguous topics and often too cryptically, sometimes to prove a point, will post my opinion and reason for this later.
You are all a great help on all topics, which I sincerely appreciate.

Problem is you are taking something that is very, VERY simple and asking people to consider irrelevant data in the application of the rule. Why convolute such a simple issue? Isn't it bad enough ASA already causes issues referring to the base in the RS without umpires perpetuating the misconception that a defender's position at the base has any valid meaning?

MrRabbit Sun Aug 19, 2012 12:02am

Question in relation to ASA obstruction.

R1 on first, Pitcher starts the pitch, F3 moves in between R1 and the pitcher to hinder R1 from knowing when the ball is released hindering R1 from breaking for second on a steal.

Do you have obstruction?

SRW Sun Aug 19, 2012 06:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrRabbit (Post 852081)
Question in relation to ASA obstruction.

R1 on first, Pitcher starts the pitch, F3 moves in between R1 and the pitcher to hinder R1 from knowing when the ball is released hindering R1 from breaking for second on a steal.

Do you have obstruction?

No.
If you do, sell it to me. Explain how F3 impeded the progress of R1...

CecilOne Sun Aug 19, 2012 04:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by MrRabbit (Post 852081)
Question in relation to ASA obstruction.

R1 on first, Pitcher starts the pitch, F3 moves in between R1 and the pitcher to hinder R1 from knowing when the ball is released hindering R1 from breaking for second on a steal.

Do you have obstruction?

Please keep this a mechanics thread, not rules. :)

MD Longhorn Mon Aug 20, 2012 08:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 852107)
Please keep this a mechanics thread, not rules. :)

No offense intended here, but how is his question any different in this regard from yours where you posted 7 scenarios and asked if we would call obstruction?

CecilOne Mon Aug 20, 2012 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 852137)
No offense intended here, but how is his question any different in this regard from yours where you posted 7 scenarios and asked if we would call obstruction?

Mike, you are correct and definitely not offending. I realized that as soon as I saw Rabbitt's question and just hoped not to have all perpetuate my mistake. I'll try to find time to reconstruct as a separate thread.

CecilOne Mon Aug 20, 2012 01:44pm

I reposted my starter on this in a thread called "about OBS calls".

I will delete my part of this from this thread and hope all do likewise.

THANK YOU ! !

CecilOne Wed Oct 24, 2012 04:36pm

nitty gritty
 
Just some little things, base on ASA 2 umps; but add NFHS & NCAA if you like.

A) agree or disagree
BU in B slot, pop up to SS pretty deep, this is a time to ignore inside/outside to avoid throwing lane

B) agree or disagree
Assuming PU is covering 3rd even if first play if from the outfield; it is still from the outfield if a relay by SS

C) R1 going home, R2 to 3rd, other runner(s):
How do you as BU judge whether PU is needed at home or should cover 3rd?
Please say if Q too cryptic/simplistic (politely of course). ;)

MD Longhorn Wed Oct 24, 2012 04:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 859970)
A) agree or disagree
BU in B slot, pop up to SS pretty deep, this is a time to ignore inside/outside to avoid throwing lane

Huh? No. Don't ignore it. Stay outside.

Quote:

B) agree or disagree
Assuming PU is covering 3rd even if first play if from the outfield; it is still from the outfield if a relay by SS
Of course.

Quote:

C) R1 going home, R2 to 3rd, other runner(s):
How do you as BU judge whether PU is needed at home or should cover 3rd?
Please say if Q too cryptic/simplistic (politely of course). ;)
No need for me, as BU, to need to judge. Someone is going home... PU stays home. Period. I have everything else.

CecilOne Thu Oct 25, 2012 08:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by MD Longhorn (Post 859975)
No need for me, as BU, to need to judge. Someone is going home... PU stays home. Period. I have everything else.

The need I meant is judging when the PU is no longer needed at HP, so both don't call the play at 3rd. Is it just dependent on the PU communicating or do you have a criteria for observation by the BU?
Or, are you saying that anytime there is a runner going home on a play, the PU "never" leaves for 3rd, even after the runner scores? Ignore TWP and where the throw goes for now.

Big Slick Thu Oct 25, 2012 08:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 859970)
Just some little things, base on ASA 2 umps; but add NFHS & NCAA if you like.

A) agree or disagree
BU in B slot, pop up to SS pretty deep, this is a time to ignore inside/outside to avoid throwing lane

In ASA and Fed mechanics, you do move inside. You have to be aware not to be in the throwing lane, therefore a bit deeper in the infield than usual depending. For NCAA, you can read the play from either an inside or outside position.

And one more time to pick the nit: no softball organization labels starting positions by letters. If you say "two umpire system, runner on first" we know where you start. BTW, most umpire do not start in a good position with a runner on first, they are too far back, but that's a different thread.

Quote:

B) agree or disagree
Assuming PU is covering 3rd even if first play if from the outfield; it is still from the outfield if a relay by SS
"First play from the outfield" is a meaningless phrase in softball. We have "first play in the infield" for runners at third.

PU has responsibilities at third with the exceptions of a) first play in the infield, b) steal of third, c) Batter/Runner and d) when a throw going home is cut off and thrown to third.

Quote:

C) R1 going home, R2 to 3rd, other runner(s):
How do you as BU judge whether PU is needed at home or should cover 3rd?
Please say if Q too cryptic/simplistic (politely of course). ;)
Well, as my last answer (see PU responsibilities at third), for ASA and Fed mechanics, you stay in the holding zone (between third and home) and read the throw. If the throw is directly to third, you move to a calling position at third. If the throw is home and/or cut, you stay at home (see above). For NCAA two umpires (looking in the three umpire section when a BU chases), it is the same as ASA/Fed with one exception: if there are two outs, PU stays home, BU has all bases.

This is one of my biggest pet peeves when working with some umpires. They fail to cover third and stay at the plate without even reading the play. I hear "well, a throw could come home" or (my personal fav) "I have to watch the runner touch the plate."

MD Longhorn Thu Oct 25, 2012 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 860034)
The need I meant is judging when the PU is no longer needed at HP, so both don't call the play at 3rd. Is it just dependent on the PU communicating or do you have a criteria for observation by the BU?
Or, are you saying that anytime there is a runner going home on a play, the PU "never" leaves for 3rd, even after the runner scores? Ignore TWP and where the throw goes for now.

Well, there's always an exception to "never", right? :)

R3 only; Batter hits an apparent triple. PU can cover 3rd. However, as BU, I'm expecting to cover all 3 bases unless I hear my partner say he's got 3rd. In the sitch you actually asked, though... PU has home for R1, and then has to stay home for R2 as well. Besides, I'm in C - so I'm already closer to 3rd anyway. Barring a rundown, I cannot envision a play with multiple runners other than the one I just mentioned where PU would leave home.

DaveASA/FED Thu Oct 25, 2012 09:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CecilOne (Post 859970)
Just some little things, base on ASA 2 umps; but add NFHS & NCAA if you like.

A) agree or disagree
BU in B slot, pop up to SS pretty deep, this is a time to ignore inside/outside to avoid throwing lane

B) agree or disagree
Assuming PU is covering 3rd even if first play if from the outfield; it is still from the outfield if a relay by SS

C) R1 going home, R2 to 3rd, other runner(s):
How do you as BU judge whether PU is needed at home or should cover 3rd?
Please say if Q too cryptic/simplistic (politely of course). ;)

A) there are some hits that, as the national staff describes them, are tweeners, it's inbetween the infield and the outfield. This is what this scenario sounds like to me so you read the play and react to it. Most likely as you are describing it (or as I am seeing it anyway) this play would be best to stay outside.

B) Agreed, you have to believe your partner will cover their responsibilities and you should cover yours. Now glancing to make sure never hurt but yes you should believe they are going to do their job.

C) By the book PU should be there unless there is a throw that takes them home. BU by the book covers a play on a lead runner at 3B if there is a throw that is returning from home, or cut off while on it's way to home and then thrown to 3B to make a play. In a follow up thread you asked to not worry about if there was a throw, well you can't disreguard this fact since it changes the coverage. Ex. If bases are loaded and there is a base hit to the outfield the PU should move into the holding zone and read the play being ready to move into position at 3B or home depending on what happens. IF there is going to be a play at the plate then PU needs to move toward the plate and take that play, any subsquent play on a throw being returned to 3B from the plate area will be the BU's call on R2. Now if R1 is going to score with no play the PU should stay in the holding zone and see the touch of home over their shoulder while preparing for a play at 3B on another lead runner. So the quick answer to your question is, if there is a play at the plate (which could just be a throw to the plate) on a lead runner, then as a BU you know you have to cover a return throw to 3B on another runner. If there isn't a play/throw toward home then by the book PU should have that play at 3B. Still always a good idea to look, could be possible PU got fooled and thought there was a play developing at plate and you may be in a better position to take the call but as always this is a deviation so COMMUNICATE and make sure it's clear you are taking that call at 3B.

HugoTafurst Thu Oct 25, 2012 02:07pm

+1. (especially as it relates to "c"


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:44am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1