![]() |
"clockwise"
NFHS rule 6-1-4: "The pitcher may use any windup desired provided:...d. the pitcher does not make more than 1 1/2 clockwise revolutions of the arm in the windmill pitch..." Can somebody please explain this "clockwise" direction?
|
Quote:
What it means is, the arm cannot make more than 1 1/2 revolutions in the direction you and I would normally associate with a pitch (clockwise if you're the first baseman; counter-clockwise if you're the 3rd baseman ... or from the pitchers POV, clockwise if you're right handed and counter if you're left handed.) |
clockwise depends on the hemisphere. :D
|
So, using Figure 24 on Page 48 of the NFHS "2012 and 2013 Softball Umpires Manual" (three-umpire system - B1 behind 1st base, B3 behind 3rd base), it is a legal pitch if I am umpire B1 (clockwise) but I should call an illegal pitch if I'm umpire B3 (counter-clockwise)? Unless I'm in the southern hemisphere? :D
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:56am. |