![]() |
batter's interference
Had this come up last nite at meeting.
Runner on third, no outs, catcher throws to third in attempt to pick off runner. 1. Throw hits batter while she's in the box....nothing, live ball, play on. 2. Throw hits batter after she stepped out of box. What are the penalties, if any in #2? Also, if possible, could you site a case play . Thanks. |
Quote:
Probably doesn't matter in this particular case, but you should include the ruleset you're playing under, as it does matter sometimes. We don't have enough information yet. 1 is not always nothing. 2 is not always something. Can you describe the play in more detail? Was the throw immediate or was there some delay, what was the batter doing, exactly. This sitch is HTBT, but some description on your part might allow us to visualize and at least tell you what the umpire was (or should have been) looking for. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
With all due respect (that has greatly diminished over the last month or two), your response to KJUmp and mbcrowder is completely inappropriate. |
Quote:
I was thought, in general, on this type of situation, if the batter stays in the batter's box, and does not intentionally interfer with the catcher's throw, it's nothing, live ball-play on. However, if she steps out of the box, where she doesn't belong, and gets hit with the catcher's pick-off throw, batter's interference could be called. If batter's interference is called, would the batter be out? Or would the runner on third be called out? Thanks |
xtreamump
Need more information. I have nothing so far ?
|
Quote:
in #2 batter is out, runner returns to/remains on 3rd but of course its not always black and white |
Quote:
Last I checked, we don't have rule books for parents, coaches, umpires, etc. We just have rule books. So I don't know how asking or answer this question makes and difference and can only serve to clog the thread and let other posters go off on irrelevant tangents. |
Quote:
But more importantly, this is a forum. A forum where we have discussions. You, a relatively new poster, telling regular contributors to "be quiet" is inappropriate. I will make this abundantly clear. When I open my own forum in the coming week or so, those kinds of comments will be off-limits. |
Quote:
#1 Assuming instantaneous play: If the batter is just recovering from a swing and not doing anything out of the norm, it is just a DMC Assuming a delayed throw: Pretty much same as above unless there is an unanticipated move, even if unintentional, by the batter. In that case, it would be a dead ball, could be INT, the batter would be ruled out and any advancing runners return to the base occupied at the time of the INT. #2 This is INT. The ball is dead, the batter is out and all advancing runners return to the base occupied at the time of the INT. |
Quote:
Whatever. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
1) Pitch came inside, batter bailed without falling, and was about 2 steps behind the box. Catcher did not field cleanly and the ball rolled a bit left. Catcher then drilled the batter in the helmet - there was no chance of the batter avoiding the throw. 2) Pitch came out of the catcher's glove rolling toward the batter. Batter danced to avoid the rolling ball, moving toward 3rd. Catcher picked up the ball barehanded and Tekulve'd the ball right into batter's leg. This is why I asked for more information on the OP. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17am. |