![]() |
I saw this in the college WS, batter bunts ball batter still in the batters box ball hits bat again and bat was out of the batters hand umpire calls dead ball and a foul ball, in the asa rule book poe (if the bat is out of the batters hands and it hits the ball in fair territory, the ball is dead and the batter runner is out.What is the correct call?
|
Quote:
You are saying that the ball hit the bat a second time and that the bat was out of the batters hands. ASA POE#23 B. <b>If the ball hits the bat on the ground, the batter is not out. The umpire should then determine whether the ball is fair or foul based on the fair/four rule. If the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory, it remains live. If it stops or is touched in fair territory, it is a fair ball. If it touches the bat in fair territory and then rolls to foul ground and stops, it is a foul ball. If the ball rolls against the bat in foul territory, it is a foul ball re- gardless. |
Did the ball hit the bat on the ground? See Glen's answer.
Did the bat hit the ball a second time? Batter out. Key is what hit what. |
Stolen from an earlier thread:
ASA POE 23-B: "If the bat is out of the batter's hands (dropped or thrown) and it hits the ball in fair territory, the ball is dead and the batter-runner is out. If the ball hits the bat on the ground, the batter is not out." This was the response about NFHS and ASA. It is also in my giddyup book. [Edited by CecilOne on Jun 11th, 2003 at 09:59 AM] |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01am. |